Working on a Dream

As far as dreams go, this pile of dirt doesn’t look like much. 22dream1At least not yet. I think it is the most beautiful pile of dirt I’ve ever seen.

My eldest son, Stosh (23), is building a pitcher’s mound our back yard. It’s part of his dream and he’s working hard every day to build that dream.

Now that you know a little more about the dirt pile, don’t you think it’s beautiful too?

“People, even more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed, and redeemed; never throw out anyone.” -Audrey Hepburn

Have you seen the Speedo Man?

dsc026241Speedo Man (aka Jerry Davis) is front page news today in our local Chronicle newspaper. I took this picture last month. When I first saw him, I slowed down because I thought some poor man had just been robbed of his clothes and needed help. But then I saw what great shape he was in a figured out that he was running for exercise, not for fear of his life.

Jerry is 67 years old, has had both legs crushed in accidents and runs 10 miles a day. It’s a great story, read it online here or see the video. Right on, Jerry, run on!

“The capacity for hope is the most significant fact of life. It provides human beings with a sense of destination and the energy to get started.” –Norman Cousins

TODAY’S EXERCISE: 1.1 miles, up and down Thistlehill.

~ by Kimberly Mason on April 22, 2009.

One Response to “Working on a Dream”

  1. I think it’s beautiful too! I love seeing my kids working in the dirt. Regardless of their reason, “work” or play.

    Looks like you have plenty of room for chickens too. They are a lot of fun, super easy to take care of, and you just can’t beat fresh eggs!

Leave a Reply

 
