Art Quilt Group Assignment: First Attempt

The assignment for this month’s meeting of the Ruby Street Quiltworks Art Quilt Group 23flight(this Sunday, yikes!) is to take a picture or drawing and re-create it…but only a portion of it. 23firsttryThe image I chose to work with is a woodcut by Elizabeth Reuter, printed on the Episcopal Kalendar.

My first attempt is interesting, I think, but not anywhere near where I want to be. I like my palette, I’m impressed at my first real attempt to “Ruth McDowell” a drawing into a piecing pattern, but I don’t like the composition and I would like to take a few more risks with my fabric choices. It’s also a mirror image of the original, I plan to take the time to correct that in my next attempt.

I can see where I need to take some more time to cut better angles. Use deeper or lighter or bold colors, etc.

A fun exercise for the day. It measures 10″ x 16″ and only took 2.5 hours from concept to the last seam sewn. I’ll have another try tomorrow.

“When I dare to be powerful, to use my strength in the service of my vision, then it becomes less and less important whether I am afraid.”–Audre Lord

Art Worth Sharing

I just finished Kathryn Davis’ The Thin Place last night. dowrybobartlettVery interesting novel with beautiful cover art by Bo Bartlett. I googled Bo to find his website, I’m in love. Deeply, madly, and artistically in love. If you have extra money laying around and would like to buy me a present, buy me this beautiful print, The Dowery (shown left).

Bo Bartlett’s work grabs me. It reaches out and pulls me into his story. The otherworldly quality of his faces are fascinating. Do, please, go see his website.

The image to the right is a photo of the very first piece of “art”23chrzanoska I ever purchased with my own money. It was around 1980, I paid $20 for it, bargained (also a first for me) with the shop own down from the $80 price tag. I was so happy with her, I was in love with her, with what her life seemed to be. I wanted to be her, having all the time in the world, be delicate and beautiful and graceful. I still adore her.

“If we wait for the moment when everything, absolutely everything, is ready, we shall never begin.” -Ivan Turgenev, novelist, poet, playwright

TODAY’S EXERCISE: 1.5 hrs. of Power Vinyasa Yoga. Woo hoo!

~ by Kimberly Mason on April 23, 2009.

2 Responses to “Art Quilt Group Assignment: First Attempt”

  1. You have chosen some wonderful sites for inspiration, thank you for sharing. Every step of the path that challenges and inspires makes the journey worth taking.

  2. Interesting assignment. I remember doing something similar in a high school art class but with paint. Think 70’s, psychadelic color combos, and it was an interesting translation.

    Love your delicate lady. Reminds me of a statuette I once had…

Leave a Reply

 
