ART Quilt Group Assignment: Try Two

26tryno2Here you see my second attempt on the left, first attempt on the right. An improvement, but I’m not there yet.

I insist (to myself) that I allow myself three tries at anything new until I give up in total despair. And I’ve learned not to put my heart and soul into a piece until that last try – it really cuts down on the length of the trail of tears and Kleenex I leave behind on my expressive journey. (The trail helps me find my way back in case I get lost – and just so you know, Kleenex and tears is healthier than cookies.)26palette

I’m crazy about my palette! Don’t you just want to roll around in those colors?! The Art Quilt Group meets today after church at Ruby Street Quiltworks. I’ll be there with my unfinished pieces (it won’t be the LAST time that happens, I’m sure!) – good news is, I’ll get to add a piece or two (or six) to the palette while I’m collagedrawingthere. (Shhhhh! Don’t tell you know who!)

If you are still thinking, “I don’t know what in the heck she’s doing. What in the heck is the picture.” Well, here to the right is a little reminder. The assignment is to take a piece of art and reproduce only a portion of it. I chose the area where the hands of Joseph and the Angel and the back of the donkey are all supporting, safeguarding and hurrying Mother and Child along.

Have an amazing day, thank you for YOU!

“A person may rise to the highest degree of contemplation even when busily occupied.” -St. Mary Euphrasia Pelletier, Embrace the World

YESTERDAY’S EXERCISE: 1.5 hrs. Power Vinyasa Yoga.
TODAY’S EXERCISE: Cookies at the Second Sunday Sacrament (Coffee Hour after Church)

~ by Kimberly Mason on April 26, 2009.

2 Responses to “ART Quilt Group Assignment: Try Two”

  1. Oh my gosh, Kim! This is stunning! I know you’re on #2, but I see such strength and attention in both of these. I love that you’ve posted the entire process. I’m a journey girl, who completing understands three strikes, temper tantrums and kleenex. My husband can attest to it. He wonders occassionallly if my head is going to spin. Glorious. I can’t wait to see #3. And of course the finished piece. Sending big thick piecing, clear vision and grace prayers from Alabama.

  2. Kim, I was excited to see your two attempts. I really like the way you changed the second one, and love the section of the picture that you chose showing the care and protection given to Mother and Child. I wasn’t able to make it in April as I was in Indiana playing with 4 1/2 year old twin grandchildren and having a ball, but I hope to make it this month if I haven’t missed it already. I need to call. Please bring all of your attempts again, if you can. I’d love to see them.

Leave a Reply

 
