I’m Working On It…

04workingonitI hope the third time will be the charm with this exercise (Escape from Egypt, see previous posts for more info). And even if it doesn’t end up charming me, I intend to finish it and learn from it.

My work is my prayer. It is a form of meditation and an immersion into creation that opens my heart to God. The ears of my heart (I know of no other way to say that) become tuned to listening for the promptings of the Spirit.

My work may not be successful in a conventional manner, my success is in the doing of it and not in the being of it. The fact that I labor is enough for me right now and it is all that I have to offer. I can only hope that what I offer, eventually, will be the beauty that I seek, but for now, I am content that it just is.

“For me, prayer is a surge of the heart; it is a simple look turned toward heaven, it is a cry of recognition and of love, embracing both trial and joy.” -St. Therese of Lisieux

TODAY’S EXERCISE: 1.5 miles uphill and down, plus cooking, washing clothes and dishes, and thanking God that I CAN.

~ by Kimberly Mason on May 4, 2009.

3 Responses to “I’m Working On It…”

  1. I’m really loving the tenderness of that hand around her back…

    …and the first time I ever heard God speak was when I was sitting at a sewing machine. So, yeah. It’s a meditative activity, no doubt.

    Hugs 2 U
    D

  2. I know what you mean when you say my work is my prayer. I’m so relaxed and intune with the infinite when I sew. The world drifts away and I am at one with the creator. Thanks for sharing.

  3. It’s wonderful, evocative and tender at the same time. I love that you expressed the fact that your work is an ongoing prayer…

Leave a Reply

 
