Bound & Determined to Hang On to Prayer

I have been praying along with The Episcopal Church in Garrett County, MD, in daily morning prayer through my iPod Shuffle for more than 18 months. That morning ritual fed me (still does), more than 05birdI ever would have believed. And I have stuck with that morning ritual, longer than I ever would have imagined. It seems to me to be the leading of a Gentle Spirit I feel I know, but yet do not, nor can I ever, fully understand.

My studies in prayer began this year in earnest during Lent with the purchase of Phyllis Tickle’s book The Divine Hours: Prayers for Springtime. I am interested in committing to a group of Religious that requires members to pray the Daily Office: morning, noonday, evening and compline. As a former Baptist/Presbyterian, I wasn’t sure what I was in for, but I was bound and determined to find out. I heard the call, I just didn’t know where I was going yet.

I am still bo05hangonund and determined and finding out. It’s a process. I truly love long and winding roads of learning. I am never more content than when I am wandering down a pathway created by the footsteps of thinkers, both ancient and modern, with the same longings in their hearts that I have in mine. To be led through briers, over hills and across pastures of gentle grasses of thought and prayer, of prose and poetry and all manner of being and doing that I have yet to find proper explanation or understanding.

But isn’t that what it’s all about?

“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.” -Ernest Hemingway

That’s me. I love the journey. Where are you going?

~ by Kimberly Mason on May 6, 2009.

2 Responses to “Bound & Determined to Hang On to Prayer”

  1. Fitting post for World Day of Prayer. I’m journeying, too, step by step…

  2. Correction: National Day of Prayer.

Leave a Reply

 
