Spice Girls Quilts of Valor Corp

Today I’m off to spend the day with my Spice Girls Quilts of Valor Corp. purpleheartquilt-1We’re a small group, but we’re a hard working and hard talking group (multi-dimensional quilters, aka MDQs in military lingo…and yes, I just made that up).

Are you a quilter? Please consider making a QOV. You won’t regret it. Go to their website and check it out.

“The mission of the QOV Foundation is to cover ALL war wounded and injured servicemembers and veterans from the War on Terror whether physical or psychological wounds with Wartime quilts called Quilts of Valor (QOVS).  Or as a six year old put it, “When the sholders are warring [sic] and they come home and are hurt, the quilt makes them feel all comfy.”

This foundation is not about politics. It’s about people.”

The photograph of this qovhandsome soldier and his QOV is NOT my photograph, so please do not email me to congratulate me on my fine work. This photograph is from the Quilt of Valor webite. I posted this picture so you could get an idea of how much these QOVs mean to our men and women in uniform. It breaks, fills, swells and bursts your heart all at the same time, doesn’t it?! It’s a beautiful thing.

Hi, Daddy, I love you. You’re MY hero.

UPDATE: Kathy finished up her QOV top today, then she and I finished putting Linda’s blocks together.

Linda has also acquired another quilt top 07oldBlocksfrom a customer that Kathy took home to her long arm for quilting — we are going to have to start calling her “St. Kathy of the Long Arm”. SO, with the two that we already have, the donated top, Kathy’s and Linda’s quilts, we may have FIVE, count ’em, FIVE QOVs to send to Camp Lejeune and the 3/8 battalion in June. Way to go, Ladies!

I had brought a 20+ year old set of quilt blocks that I have recently made into a top for show and tell (above right). I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it yet. I’ve got a boy that loves blue, maybe….?

~ by Kimberly Mason on May 7, 2009.

One Response to “Spice Girls Quilts of Valor Corp”

  1. love that quilt on the bottom right of this post — love how it starts out kinda normal and then just walks right outta the barnyard!

Leave a Reply

 
