Yoga Practice, Girlfriends & Loving My Neighbor

To be honest, I’ve been ditching yoga class recently. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had plenty of good excuses for not going – sick kid, 15ViewTwotoo much time away from home with dogs cooped up, Big Man home early each week and, my most lame excuse, I’ve been tired and stressed.

“We are cups, constantly and quietly being filled. The trick is, knowing how to tip ourselves over and let the beautiful stuff out.” -Ray Bradbury

Why is tired and stressed a bad excuse for missing yoga class? Because yoga class helps with the tired and stressed and low energy and overwhelmed and sad and it helps especially with the uneasiness of the heart, the mind, the body and the soul. Sometimes our cup (the energies of our heart, mind, body and soul) overflows and sometimes our cup has been drained to nearly the last drop.

“In these moments, relax in God’s love. Know that you are God’s chosen; you are God’s favorite. God’s love for you is so deep and so wide, so vast that nothing you do, nothing you say, nothing that is done to you can ever separate you from that love. Allow yourself to believe this truth. Rest in it.” d365.org

This weekend I have neighbors in my backyard, the North American Versatile Hunting Dog Association is holding a test. And, whether I want to or 15ViewOnenot, these are just some of the people that Jesus has told me to love. Do I love them? No, not so much. They bring noise; they bring game birds that they release that I get to pick up after my dogs have found them, killed them and brought them home for – ugh – supper; but, as Big Man reminded me this morning, they also bring BBQ dinner Friday and Saturday nights and wine.

So, I am here, trying my best to love my neighbor. In the meantime, I had yoga last night (oh so gooood!) and Sugar ‘n Spice Girls Quilters this afternoon (good friends, good conversation and a Vanilla Latte) and I have yoga scheduled for 8am tomorrow. Toss in a good amount of prayer (and don’t forget the wine) and I just may make it through the weekend.

“Someday, after we have mastered the winds, the waves, the tides and gravity, we shall harness for God the energies of love. Then for the second time in the history of the world, we will have discovered fire.” -Teilhard de Chardin

TODAY’S EXERCISE: 2.2 miles up Thistlehill and down twice and down the road.
YESTERDAY’S EXERCISE: 1.5 hours Power Vinyasa Yoga.

~ by Kimberly Mason on May 15, 2009.

3 Responses to “Yoga Practice, Girlfriends & Loving My Neighbor”

  1. …somehow “a spoonful of sugar” came to mind, drat!, now it will play in my head all day… 😉

  2. Hi really like your Blog, what are you thoughts on hatha yoga? I also found this really good guide on yoga that I think I might get, do you know any one that has got it and if it is any good? Here is the link http://budurl.com/runnersyoga

  3. I wish our neighbors would camp and bring BBQ. I’m a girl who eats. I don’t believe I would mind the dead birds too too too much if they did. Instead, they call the city regarding a pile of debris by our curb. I think I’d love my neighbors better if they lived in a different state. big smile.

Leave a Reply

 
