Building Dedication at Pope’s Kids Place

I don’t feel qualified to write the full story, but I can present a few pictures and 17Plaqueattempt to express how deeply honored I am to even be acquainted with such dedicated, giving and just plain amazing people.

Sunday afternoon my mother and I attended the dedication the new Medical Clinic Building at Pope’s Kids Place in memory of Al Jaeger. I am in absolute awe of what people can accomplish when they set their mind to it. Absolute awe.

It was a beautiful day and I love seeing how my church family turns out en masse for such celebrations. St. Timothy’s is such a wonderfully supportive group. If they put their mind to it, I bet they could truly move mountains with their energy, nerve and17Pope+Bev strength. And, well…holy cow, Bev, I really missed out by not getting to know Al, didn’t I. And you, Bev, you are truly AWESOME.

The building is beautiful. Burdens untold will be eased here. Spirits lifted, bodies healed and hearts made whole.

Dr. Pope (shown at left with Bev at the unveiling of the plaque) was our pediatrician when we first moved to this area 15 years ago. My Shane was only 2 years old and he thought Dr. Pope was the most impressive man he’d ever seen. Tall, broad shouldered and deep voiced with a spirit and giggle to rival the Archbishop Tutu or the Dalai Lama — I, too, looked up at him with awe. Shane called him “The Pope” and I have to wonder if Shane (always deeply perceptive) didn’t see a small spark of the divine within the man, I know I did.

And for you quilters, the picture below was taken in the preschool. What an terrific way to hang panels on a vaulted ceiling!17NurseryQuilts

“If you see good in people, you radiate a harmonious loving energy which uplifts those who are around you. If you can maintain this habit, this energy will turn into a steady flow of love.” -Annamalai Swami

TODAY’S EXERCISE: .95 miles walking (between bobbin changes while quilting). *singing* Good day sunshine!

~ by Kimberly Mason on May 18, 2009.

4 Responses to “Building Dedication at Pope’s Kids Place”

  1. Oh, Kim what a wonderful job you did telling about the Dedication! Touched me deeply. I wanted a picture of the plaque and now I can copy it off your blog…..Thanks, so much.

  2. This is Logan, Bev and Al’s Grandson. You are a great writer. Dr. Pope has been my pediatrician since I was born. I saw and still see the divine in him as well. Doesn’t the plaque look great? It looks just like Al, and the quote is rockin! Have the best day ever, Kim!

  3. When talent, love and dedication combine for good look what can happen! Love those picture panels too!!

  4. Thank you so much for the nice things you have to say about my family and especially my grandfather. He touched my life in a way that I will never forget, and on Sunday he did it again. It is amazing to see that even though he is not with us that he continues to touch the lives of others because he chose to do what God wanted him to do. Always giving of his heart, time, and money. I will always miss him and love him for all that he has done for myself and others!
    Jerome Jaeger

Leave a Reply

 
