Me and My Big Ideas

22ShadowsIf you read the post from this morning, you know that I have been kicking my own backside over me and my big ideas. Here it is, here’s that big idea I’ve been kicking myself over, the Quilt of Valor. Or should I say, the half-quilted Quilt of Valor.

This is Linda’s quilt top, Kathy O. and I sewed the blocks together at our last Spice Girls Quilts of Valor meeting. It was at that meeting where I said, “Hey! I have an idea…”

Yup, you guessed it. I had an idea that I could take this top home, quilt it up in no time on my beautiful new Juki and have it ready for mailing on Tuesday.

Yeah, me and my big ideas.

So away I go, I’ve got my feather stitch pattern. I practiced, and practiced, and more practice. After a yard of practice I decide to hang up my last practice piece for encouragement and dive in.

Two days later I’m in tears, I don’t like how it’s turning out. It’s taking forever. Linda’s going to be disappointed. I’ll never get it done in time if I just sit around crying. What can I do?

I picked up the quilt, headed outside to the front lawn and spread the quilt out for a good look. I’m crying, sniffling and feeling pretty stupid. Then…

“Hey, I have an idea…” So, I gathered myself together as best I could and headed back indoors with the quilt. But first, intending to take a moment to calm down, I sat down at the computer.

“Ding Dong,” incoming email. It’s from Linda:

Of course it will be alright, Kim. Of course you can do it. All better?

She was commenting on another blog post and another subject, but still…Our God is an awesome God, yes? And my friends are awesome friends.

~ by Kimberly Mason on May 22, 2009.

3 Responses to “Me and My Big Ideas”

  1. I just want to offer hugs and encouragement and appreciation from my little corner of the world.

  2. You know, don’t you, that once you are done, and you walk away from it – you will come back and say – Wow – I did good!! It just takes a small break and then you can see that you really are doing a great job!!!

  3. Hmmm. I can just hear that song I used to love, sung by Rich somebody or other: Our God is an awesome God…

    Peace, my sister. It will be fine.

Leave a Reply

 
