Rumi on the Design Wall: Another Kaleidoscope Begins

02RumiWallMy friend and fellow blogger, Diane, has been studying the work of Rumi. She never fails to draw me into her own contemplations and give me food for thought. In fact, I have grown quite joyfully fat, spiritually speaking, from her ruminative postings. (Pun very much intended.)

I have listened to the Speaking of Faith podcast interview with Fatemeh Keshavarz (professor of Persian & Comparative Literature and the author of Reading Mystical Lyric: The Case of Jalal aI-Din Rumi) at least a dozen times this week. Each time I hear a different turn of poetic phrase, another call to my spirit to come and play with Rumi’s words and create images to express the emotion and movement and longing I feel as his words float through and beyond me.

On God

When His light shines — without a veil — neither the sky remains nor the earth, not the sun, nor the moon.

God embraces all…there is nothing that is not a part of him already.

Remember God! His remembrance is the strength in the wings of the bird that is your soul

The souls of all friends of God are connected with one another

You must seek anything that you wish to find
Not so with the Friend…
You begin to seek after you find him

~ by Kimberly Mason on June 2, 2009.

3 Responses to “Rumi on the Design Wall: Another Kaleidoscope Begins”

  1. Oh, this is good stuff. Good stuff indeed. Thanks for sharing it.

  2. Wayne Dyer often talks about Rumi. I guess I’m going to have to get the book and do some reading. Your block is beautiful. Probably comes from that beauty within you.

  3. You might also enjoy Hafiz… A really WONDERFUL introduction to Rumi, Hafiz and some other amazingly fun poetry is the book Love Poems from God, which my cat just obligingly knocked off my counter so I would bring it to your attention. Here’s a sample: a poem by Rabia called “Troublemakers”:

    Since no one really knows anything about God,
    those who think they do are just
    troublemakers.

Leave a Reply

 
