Going ’round & ’round with Rumi

03RumiKaleidoscopeWheelI consider Wednesday my “day off ” (if someone without a “real” job can lay claim to such). (Oh, btw, have you ever been to The “Blog” of “Unnecessary” Quotation Marks? Hilarious!) After three, sometimes four, full days of providing enough attention, appreciation and food to satisfy one muscle-building man, I’m ready to sink into a cloud of devotion to my latest obsession.

Ahhhhhh! Feels good.

Last night Big Man casually asked me what direction my quiltmaking was taking me.

Yeah, I know, WHAT??? The question threw me off balance.  I stammered, “Uh…I’m not really sure…uh, I think I’m still stuck on the kaleidoscope thing…” He shrugged and nodded his head, moved the conversation into another direction.

This morning it occurs to me (I’m slow…REALLY slow sometimes) that he was probably hoping GatorI would pick up on his hint and declare myself ready to finish his Florida Gators quilt. Ha! Better luck next time, Bay-bee. Actually, I think he has implanted a little seed of quilt guilt (ooooh! I just made that phrase up and I LIKE it!).

I would love to kiss you. The price of kissing is your life.

Now my loving is running toward my life shouting, What a bargain, let’s buy it.

-Rumi

~ by Kimberly Mason on June 3, 2009.

One Response to “Going ’round & ’round with Rumi”

  1. I’ve been watching your quilt grow. It is beautiful. The Gators quilt is nice too, but I’d finish the other one first. I love the Rumi quote. What a bargain!

Leave a Reply

 
