A Great Wagon-ful of Inspiration

My son Mason (20) and his girlfriend Tisha (as sweet as she is pretty) came to visit yesterday. Mason walked through the door and looked at my design wall and said, “What the heck, Mom, did you know that looks like an Indian design??”

“Actually, son, it is inspired by the poetry of a 13th century Persian mystic.” Ha! He thinks he’s so smart (he is!).

When I see your face, the stones start spinning!03RumiKali
You appear; all studying wanders.
I lose my place.

Water turns pearly.
Fire dies down and doesn’t destroy.

In your presence I don’t want what I thought
I wanted, those three little hanging lamps.

Inside your face the ancient manuscripts
Seem like rusty mirrors.

You breathe; new shapes appear,
and the music of a desire as widespread
as Spring begins to move
like a great wagon.

Drive slowly.

Some of us walking alongside
are lame!

-Rumi, translated by Fatemeh Keshavarz

~ by Kimberly Mason on June 4, 2009.

2 Responses to “A Great Wagon-ful of Inspiration”

  1. It’s amazing…

  2. OMG: AMAZING poem, even more gorgeous IMAGE/QUILT! That is just BREATHTAKING!

    Now tell me — HOW long did it take you to put that together?

Leave a Reply

 
