Love Poems from God & a UFO Revisited

I made the trek into town yesterday searching for treasures. 10Love+PoemsHere you see my favorites: a candle, a book and three 1/3 yard cuts of lovely cottons from Sister’s Fabric Shop.

Diane, the Contemplative Photographer and Poet, has been leading me down a path into unfamiliar territory: the Land of Poetry. I’m traveling without a map or compass, but I’m thrilled to have started the journey. Diane also contributes to Image & Spirit, the Episcopal Church Visual Arts (ECVA) blog.

When I found this book, Love Poems from God: Twelve Sacred Voices from the East and West, at the Book ‘n Brush yesterday I think I actually squealed with joy. Whether you like it or not (and I hope you like it), I’ll be sharing my favorites with you over the next couple of weeks. As the author and translator, Daniel Ladinsky, says:

“I hope a few of these poems will reach in deep enough to cure what separates us from each other, and from the beautiful. I hope you fall into this wine barrel (this book) and crawl out legally drunk, and get arrested for doing something that makes God proud of you, like being too happy.”

Sounds like fun! Poets featured include: Rabia, St. Francis of Assisi, Rumi (yeah!), Meister Eckhart, St. Thomas Aquinas, Hafiz, St. Catherine of Siena, Kabir, 10MasonQuiltMira, St. Teresa of Avila, St. John of the Cross and Tukaram.

Now, about the UFO. Two years ago, when my son Mason graduated from high school, I started a quilt. Today, I have decided that this will be my next Summertime UFO project. It’s called “Bikinis and Bellybuttons” and is an original twist inspired by Mary Mashuta’s Serpentine Curves quilts in her Confetti Quilts book.

I have a border to complete and an unfinished corner. I’m hoping to be ready to pin baste by Saturday so I can have a good excuse (though I don’t really need one!) to spend the morning at Sugar ‘n Spice with Linda. I’m ready for some intense GirlTime and Latte-sippin’!

~ by Kimberly Mason on June 11, 2009.

3 Responses to “Love Poems from God & a UFO Revisited”

  1. I love the quilt and the title, and am eager to read more excepts as they appear!

  2. I am delighted to see you posted the Rabia poem — and what a great moth picture! Isn’t Rabia AMAZING!!!!!!

    So glad we share this road together…

  3. Love the quote by Ladinsky! It fills me with hope even as I feel the shadows of pain and sadness from a family hurt that is trying to come to the light for healing (loooong story). One of the wonders of poetry is that it does have the ability to reach into us to touch a wound and set toward cure. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

 
