Love Poems, Love Dances: Capturing the Moment

It seems that the trough we keep stocked with large nuts for our birdy friends has become a night club for hooking up. BTW, any background noise you hear on this video that seems, well, weird (and it IS weird!) is from the television, NOT me or my kids. It’s freaky, don’t listen! LOL

I posted a Rabia poem (see the picture of the moth on the sidebar) from my new book “Love Poems from God“. Rabia al Basri (c. 717-801) was a female Islamic saint, born nearly 500 years before Rumi (my current favorite poet). Her life story is very interesting, if I send you to the Soul Curry website to read about her, will you promise not to get lost there? (I know my fears are valid, because I am STILL lost there!) And please, please, do not get lost at this site, the Poet Seers, here you can read about Rabia and any number of Christian mystics, and other Spiritual Poets of various religious backgrounds.

I had thought to read a different chapter, a different poet each day and share with you a portion of my favorite lines (if any) each day. But I am finding that it takes more than a quick read to truly absorb the essence of each.

I learned this secret to absorbing information from my son Mason when he was very small. (This is important! Listen…) He always had a talent for learning and mastering new video and board games very quickly. One day I asked him if he knew why he was so quick, and for an 8 year old I think this was a very mature and well thought out answer:

“I read through the rules and play the game for a little while before going to sleep and then when I wake up in the morning, after my dreams have taught me to play, I am a good player.”

This morning this poem of Rabia’s nearly broke my heart with it’s beauty, yesterday it was the moth and the moon…

[THE SKY GAVE ME ITS HEART]

The sky gave me its heart
because it knew mine was not large enough to care
for the earth the way
it did.

Why is it we think of God so much?
Why is there so much talk
about love?

When an animal is wounded
no one has to tell it, “You need to heal”; so naturally it will nurse
itself the best it can.

My eye kept telling me, “Something is missing from
all I see.” So it went in search of the cure.

The cure for me was His beauty, the remedy
for me was to
love.

~ by Kimberly Mason on June 12, 2009.

4 Responses to “Love Poems, Love Dances: Capturing the Moment”

  1. That is a beautiful poem.

  2. Wow – that’s how I feel about MY heart – it’s just not big enough for what’s necessary in this world. It’s a good thing I don’t have to rely on my heart alone…

  3. Oops – I was accidentally logged in on my husband’s account when I posted that response! I’ll be glad when we’re completely moved into our house & I have my computer!

Leave a Reply

 
