Lose Your Muse? Take a Walk & Find It

I’ve finally found my way to Week 11 of The Artist’s Way in the Thistlehilleleventh month since I started the journey. I’m obviously in no hurry to complete my trip through this artist’s workbook, but isn’t that just my style?! I’ve always been more of an ambler than a runner.

flexPart of this chapter talks about the Zen of Sports:

“. . .we learn by going where we have to go. Exercise is often the going that moves us from stagnation to inspiration, from problem to solution, from self-pity to self-respect. We do learn by going. We learn we are stronger than we thought. We learn to look at things with a new perspective. We learn to solve our problems by tapping our own inner resources and listening for inspiration, not only from others but from ourselves. Seemingly without effort, our answers come while we swim or stride or ride or run. By definition, this is one of the fruits of exercise: ‘exercise: the act of bringing into play or realizing in action’ (Webster’s Ninth).” -Julia Cameron, The Artist’s Way

Take a walk today, let your mind fall into the rhythm of your step. Let your walking meditation guide you to where you want to go. Come on, I’ll go with you. Let’s walk together through a poem by Meister Eckhart (1260-1328), a German mystic, monk and theological treasure:

[ WHEN I WAS THE FOREST ]

When I was the stream, when I was the forest, when I was still the field, when I was every hoof, foot, fin and wing, when I was the sky itself,

no one ever asked me did I have a purpose, no one ever wondered was there anything I might need, for there was nothing I could not love.

It was when I left all we once were that the agony began, the fear and questions came, and I wept, I wept. And tears I had never known before.

So I returned to the river, I returned to the mountains. I asked for their hand in marriage again. I begged—I begged to wed every object and creature,

and when they accepted, God was ever present in my arms. And He did not say, “Where have you been?”

For then I knew my soul—every soul—has always held Him.

A friend of mine from church, Bonnie, said this in an email recently:

“. . .Poetry has a limited audience.  A person has to really love thought that’s been concentrated and made intense. . .”

Oh Miss BoJean! How I love your poetical thought, so beautifully concentrated and made intense! Let us widen the poetically challenged’s view and fling poetry at them!

~ by Kimberly Mason on June 18, 2009.

3 Responses to “Lose Your Muse? Take a Walk & Find It”

  1. I took my first walk around our new neighborhood yesterday – and I’m looking forward to many more walks. And I’m looking forward to getting poetry flung at me!

  2. I love the way Julia Cameron thinks.

  3. I love this photo; reminds me of Wyeth’s painting, Christina’s World:

    http://www.art.com/products/p10077314-sa-i665406/andrew-wyeth-christinas-world.htm

Leave a Reply

 
