Celebrity Visits, a Blog Hop & an Artist’s Altar

CELEBRITY VISITS: I emailed Mary Mashuta FoolproofMachineQuiltingyesterday with a link to my blog post with the final photo of my Bikinis & Bellybuttons quilt. No, I don’t know her, I just know her work and since her designs inspired my quilt…what the heck! I sent her a fan letter. *g*

She not only wrote back, but she sent the link to her sister, Roberta Horton, too! Now, if you aren’t a quilter then you don’t know that being visited by these sisters is like being visited by:

  • Eric Clapton and Buddy Guy
  • Tiger Woods and Michael Jordon
  • Ellen and Oprah
  • or even Hannah Montana and Spongebob Squarepants

I am always impressed by such generosity. Not long ago I listened to a podcast interview of the author of Rapt: Attention and the Focused Life, Winifred Gallagher, where she said that it was her experience that the most personable celebrity’s were able to make you feel important with their genuine attention to you.

I’m no celebrity, but I am trying to focus on taking the time to be more “present” to the people in my life.  I process things so quickly — or at least I think that I do — that I tend to seem dismissive and inattentive to others. It is a struggle…but, God forgive me (and he does!) I’m a Work in Progress.

MINNESOTA QUILT DESIGNER BLOG HOP: Starting Monday, blog hop your way through Minnesota and you may win a prize! Go to Gudrun’s World for more information. Free patterns, demos, and prizes galore!

AN ARTIST’S ALTAR: At the19Altar+Before end of week 11 in The Artist’s Way we are instructed to construct a sacred space as a “reminder and acknowledgement of the fact that our Creator unfolds our creativity.”

Today, my Sacred Space is a pair of dirty windows with stuff piled in front. Soon I hope to see a desk with a pretty view, a candle, my BCP, Morning Pages journal and my current inspirational talismans.

Is there a place in your home where you could create your own Sacred Space?

~ by Kimberly Mason on June 19, 2009.

2 Responses to “Celebrity Visits, a Blog Hop & an Artist’s Altar”

  1. OMG, we ARE related! That quick processing thing? Appearing dismissive? That’s me! I’m inching my way toward the sacred space–part of recognizing the chi thing a few weeks ago. The office declutter and reorganize effort went well for three days and then I ran out of steam. I’m building steam again and will tackle it next week. In the meantime, I love this post. It is watering my soul.

  2. How cool that these ladies were so gracious in your sharing of your creation they inspired. :c) I think we all need a sacred space… now you have my brain thinking….

Leave a Reply

 
