3 Portraits: a Self-Portrait, a Book and an Escape

21EmmaSelfPortraitMy granddaughter, Emma, was visiting yesterday and I wasn’t paying much attention to her quiet play – until I downloaded my photographs from the camera. She had taken a few self-portraits and two three minute videos of herself playing weatherGurl and of the general goings on in the household.

I watched the videos this morning with trepidation, knowing that there would be something unflattering in the video, worried that I would say something to shame myself and much less concerned that there would be a wide-angled shot of the width of my behind (I’m a realist when it comes to body image). Sure enough, the moment that made me cringe…

She had finished with her weather report and announced it was time for a commercial. I remember seeing her drag the box that our new television came in across the room, and without even asking her what she was up to, I said, “Emma, put it back. EnduringGrace-1That’s not yours.”

Ouch. Bad Grandma. BAAAD Granny!

Ah well, it’s a good thing that I can count on God’s Enduring Grace, which happens to be the title of the book I am reading. It was recommended to me by our favorite Reverent Irreverence reverend in Tennessee and is most definitely living up to the hype!

It’s a little history, a little story-like and a lot of the experience and feelings that these seven mystics lived and endured and created. I thought it would be slow going, but I’m flying through it.

My last portrait, Escape from 21EscapeEgypt, is still a work in progress (not unlike myself!). I had begun to add borders, but have since taken them off and am rethinking my direction. Here you see the fabrics I am auditioning for the borders.

This piece is for me, to hang over my Artist’s Altar (see June 19 blog post). It reminds me of all the ways that I experience God’s love, support and guidance.

And now I will leave you with a poem from Meister Eckhart (1260-1328):

[ AN IMAGE THAT MAKES THEM SAD ]

How long will grown men and women in this world
keep drawing in their coloring books
an image of God that
makes them
sad?

~ by Kimberly Mason on June 22, 2009.

2 Responses to “3 Portraits: a Self-Portrait, a Book and an Escape”

  1. Aren’t grandchildren just wonderful. She’s a cutie. I’ll have to get the book recommended by your most favorite Reverent Irreverence reverend in Tennessee. Sounds interesting.

  2. So glad you’re enjoying the book! One reason I recommend it is because her writing is so accessible… I’m grateful for the reminder about the sacred space. Did you refer to it before as an artist’s altar? That suddenly opens up a new dimension of thinking for me as I anticipate consecrating some portion of my space… a step in the sewing direction–my machine is out! I am now that much closer to putting it use other than some necessary mending. Stay tuned, but don’t expect news immediately!

Leave a Reply

 
