Emma’s “No More Bones” Quilt Complete

26Emma+Quilt+bonesAnother summer UFO (Un-Finished Object) project complete. Quilted, bound, labeled and washed and folded and ready for my Miss Emma to take home.

This quilt was based on a Laurel Burch design, if I remember correctly. I styled the dogs in the quilt after my own two and my mother’s three dogs. The blue boy in the lower left corner is Blitz, one of the sweetest, kindest, most clever and LARGEST German Wirehaired Pointers you could ever hope to meet. (Click on the photo for a larger view of the quilt).

Blitz is the only dog that I have ever known that is smart enough to “play dumb”. That’s right, he pretended he didn’t know what you were talking about and since he is so very sweet natured, you just forgave him and left it at that. His nickname was “Duh!”. I don’t remember how we found out that Blitz wasn’t as dumb as he acted – or looked – I just remember the light going on and feeling pretty stupid.

“No more bones!” was what my granddaughter Emma (this quilt’s new owner) used to yell at Blitz while he barked and barked and barked at her, asking for another bone.

You see, Blitz decided one day that when ever anyone came in from outside the house that he deserved a bone. Not just when he came in from outside, but when anyone came through the door. And I, being a go-along kinda gal, went along26BlitzAction with the idea. So whenever I came to visit my mother, I had to stop by the bone jar and get him a bone, and if I forgot, he reminded me with a bark.

Blitz soon realized that if he waited until I got involved in conversation and then barked at me again, I would, without thinking about it, go and get him another bone – and never miss a beat in my chatter. Sometimes that dad-blamed dog would have talked me out of three or four bones before I would talk myself out and catch on to his ruse.

This picture is the only picture I have of Blitz in my files, and guess what he is doing in this picture…yup, he’s barking for a bone.

~ by Kimberly Mason on June 26, 2009.

8 Responses to “Emma’s “No More Bones” Quilt Complete”

  1. I told you that this story needed to be told! Emma and I just belly laughed our way through it. It felt great!

  2. Love it! I have a scrub jacket of the jungle by Laurel Burch and love it too. What a magnificent quilt and a special gift for Emma. :c)

  3. Love the quilt. My horse plays dumb and sweet too. She can still fool me sometimes and I know what games she plays. I have to warn strangers in advance that she is not a ditz so if she seems confused by simple commands they need to smack her and tell her to knock it off.

  4. I LOVE this quilt! Love, love, love it. If Miss Emma ever tires of it and it needs a new home, think of me, LOL! Great story about Blitz. Dogs can be such clever little buggers, can’t they?

    I adore Laurel Birch’s work, and will have to look for a pattern of something or other to make. Hmm, sounds like a list of projects is forming! The QOV will be first, then perhaps LB. I’m so glad I found you!

  5. Wonderful quilt! I love the colors – & the story is priceless. Dogs are wonderful people, that’s for sure!

  6. What a great quilt and I loved reading about Blitz. Good at training people!

  7. Gorgeous, gorgeous quilt; Emma is a very lucky girl!

  8. Stinkin Beeee-U-tee-ful! Both story & quilt. They take me back to my owne childhod. Please know that my best times were with my Grandma D. She had an old apt with a huge clawfoot bathtub. And well, I just can’t hug her enough or talk with her enough when she’s around. I’m certain Emma feels the same way.

Leave a Reply

 
