Pet-icular Woes, the Lure of Prose, Old and New UFOs

The pet-icular woes of yesterday were 30Buddycentered around a pair of seeds that my best friend Buddy the WonderDog lost in his eye. I have fetched plenty of seeds out of huntin’ dog eyes, but I knew when I saw Buddy’s eye that I had to get him to the vet. This seed wasn’t coming out without serious help.

Buddy hasn’t seen a vet since he was a puppy, so I had no idea how he was going to react. But he was a perfect gentleman and took it like a trooper. What a good dog! Now he has a week of eye drops and pampering to look forward to.

The lure of prose, whether Psalm or St. Thomas Aquinas or Hafiz, is strong today. Perhaps it is the blue skies, the quiet breeze and the gentle wave of the tall grasses. Perhaps it is the thankful heart I carry, thankful for those I love and for those I depend upon to help me care for those I love. Perhaps it is you. It is very likely all of the above.

[ THE CHRIST’S BREATH ]
by Shams-ud-din Muhammad Hafiz (c. 1320-1389)

I am
a hole in a flute
that the Christ’s breath moves through—
listen to this
music.

Old and New UFOs are on my list of “chores” today. The “Escape to Egypt” piece you’ve seen. The funky 30Collageblack birthday cake with the catAngel and the hungryDog is an old UFO (Unfinished Object) that I believe I made as a test piece just before I started my Emma’s “No More Bones” quilt.

I wasn’t too thrilled with my color choices, there isn’t any real “punch” or warmth. I’m going to see if I can’t make it better with a punchier border and binding selection. It’s only 15″ x 22″, so if it doesn’t work out, no big loss.

~ by Kimberly Mason on June 30, 2009.

2 Responses to “Pet-icular Woes, the Lure of Prose, Old and New UFOs”

  1. Oh, poor Buddy, but glad to hear that he’s on the road to recovery… Love the poem, what a totally cool way to imagine incarnation! Good luck on both UFO’s. I have no wisdom to offer, only a desire to play along. That’s the kind of chore I like!

  2. Poor Buddy. What a good boy for being a good sport!

Leave a Reply

 
