Cat People are Crazy, I Just Talk to Dogs

My six year old granddaughter, Emma, spent the night 30JessieEmmalast night. She’s had a few problems winning over our geriatric dog, Jessie. Jessie has jealousy issues, she doesn’t like sharing the attention any of the men in the house with “other women”.

My solution is to put Jessie in her crate when I see that she’s getting upset. And then she quickly learns that if she isn’t nice to everyone, she doesn’t get to visit with anyone.

Last night Jessie was a changed dog. Maybe it was because it was just us girls. Maybe she has turned over a new leaf. I don’t know why Emma has become Jessie’s new BFF, I’m just grateful for it.

I think that I am like Jessie sometimes. I have my favorites and I’m not very good at sharing. She is teaching me to love.

[ IF GOD INVITED YOU TO A PARTY ]
by Shams-ud-din Muhammad Hafiz (c. 1320-1389)

If God
invited you to a party and
said,

“Everyone in the ballroom tonight will
be my special guest,”

how would you then treat them when you arrived?

Indeed, indeed!

And Hafiz knows that there is no one in
this world who is not standing upon

His jeweled dance
floor.

~ by Kimberly Mason on July 1, 2009.

2 Responses to “Cat People are Crazy, I Just Talk to Dogs”

  1. Glad to hear Jessie came around and was able to bond with Emma. :C)

  2. I love this bit of prose. God has invited me to His party! Love that pup, your granddaughter has won Jessie over, good for her.

Leave a Reply

 
