A Fabric Shopping Spree, a Gift, and a Book

20090710

Yes, it was a fun day! But now I’m too pooped to pop (who thought that saying up???), but I’m inspired.

Starting at the top left, a quilt in the Sister’s Fabric Shop window, I bought the template for it the other day. Absolutely stunning! I think Bobbi (the shop owner) put this one together. It is from Come Quilt With Me.

Next, I made this little wool mug rug to give my girlfriend Cleda in honor of her 74th birthday. I love wool! I love her!

Top right, I walked into the Book ‘n’ Brush and said to Beverly, “What do I read today?” And she said, without hesitation, “Olive Kitteridge.” Awesome! That’s what I love about shopping local.

Bottom left, a few more fabrics to add to Tisha’s pink quilt fabrics and bottom right, another green and blue and a yellow to add to my busy as a bee stack. Some I purchased at Sister’s, a few more at Sugar ‘n Spice in Morton.

Bottom middle, another Marti Mitchell ruler and book. I LOVE her stuff, always dependable. I’ll be teaching a class or two using this tool as well as a class with the X-Blocks templates.

Whew! Time to get my feet up and rest up for a quilting marathon!

~ by Kimberly Mason on July 10, 2009.

7 Responses to “A Fabric Shopping Spree, a Gift, and a Book”

  1. Sounds like you had a good day. I love the mug mat. The quilt looks interesting. What kind of template is required? Olive Kitteridge – Haven’t read it. I’ll have to look into that one. Thanks for sharing.

    • It’s the Fun Patch template, there is a different color way on the website. I’m going to get out my graph paper and colored pencils before I decide what to do. One of the reasons I was drawn to the quilt was because the green area gives you an opportunity to use a static pattern (like a snowflake or flower kinda thing). I’ve been looking for an excuse to buy that new book that – dang me if I know what it’s called – it’s a machine quilting book.

      The Olive Kitteridge recommendation came from a lady whose “real” job (her husband works the store most days) is working with clergymen and training them to work in hospitals, SO I’m figuring it’s plenty deep. /”Clinical Pastoral Education (CPE) is interfaith professional education for ministry. It brings theological students and ministers into supervised encounters with persons in crisis”/ is what she does, and I’ve been thrilled with every recommendation she’s given me.

  2. I want to come and pet all the fabrics. So pretty. (By the way, love the new banner on your blog!)

  3. What a FUN day!!

  4. Oh, a SPLENDID day! Gorgeous fabrics, and I KNOW you’re going to love Olive. Joe and I read her this summer and she’s still with us!

    • Oooo! What an interesting thing to say, “…and she’s still with us!” I’m intrigued. I started reading her last night and only got a few pages before I was too sleepy to continue.

      I just KNEW that there was somebody that I had heard about the book from (didn’t you post about it in your blog??) whose opinion I trusted (Lord knows why — or maybe, that’s the point, The Lord know why!) 😉

  5. Elizabeth Strout is new to me. Sounds like a trip to the library is in order (maybe today!) to see what I can find.

    Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! Can I say that again? LOL! Wish I could join you for these projects.

    And the wool. I have a large piece that I may send to you. I don’t think I will ever use it (and it looks like it will work with the palette you’ve used).

    As for the request from the day before about class ideas–I would say go for the x-blocks. Some of the designs are absolutely cool, some I’m not so crazy about (and oddly, I really like the American flag one). I think the technique would be worth teaching and your students can take it from there. Isn’t that what quilting is all about? Bringing our own vision and inspiration to what we know and going beyond?

    Anyway, always a pleasure to be inspired by your blog.

Leave a Reply

 
