Hugging Meditation

15LadyBugI have been reading a segment or two from Thich Nhat Hanh’s Peace is Every Step each morning. Today’s reading is from Part Two: Transformation and Healing. Leave me a comment later to let me know that you tried “hugging meditation” and if you found it…useful. 😀 I did!

Hugging is a beautiful Western custom, and we from the east would like to contribute the practice of conscious breathing to it. When you hold a child in your arms or hug your mother, or your husband, or your friend, if you breathe in and out three times, your happiness will be multiplied at least tenfold.

“If you are distracted, thinking about other things, your hug will be distracted also, not very deep, and you may not enjoy hugging very much. So when you hug your child, your friend, your spouse, I recommend that you first breathe in and out consciously and return to the present moment. Then, while you hold him or her in your arms, breathe three times consciously, and you will enjoy your hugging more than ever before.

“It takes time to become comfortable hugging this way. If you feel a little hollow inside, you may want to slap your friend’s back while you hug him in order to prove that you are really there. But to be really there, you only need to breathe, and suddenly he becomes completely real. The two of you really exist in that moment. It may be one of the best moments in your life.

“Suppose your daughter comes and presents herself to you. If you are not really there—if you are thinking of the past, worrying about the future, or possessed by anger or fear—the child, although standing in front of you, will not exist for you. She is like a ghost, and you may be like a ghost also. If you want to be with her, you have to return to the present moment. Breathing consciously, uniting body and mind, you make yourself into a real person again. When you become a real person, your daughter becomes real also. She is a wondrous presence, and a real encounter with life is possible at that moment. If you hold her in your arms and breathe, you will awaken to the preciousness of your loved one, and life is.”

I tried hugging meditation several times yesterday. I was suffering (still am, really) from allergies, feeling headache-y and dull. But a short hug from the Right Healer and I felt refreshed and revived!

Hug on! Peace out.

~ by Kimberly Mason on July 15, 2009.

5 Responses to “Hugging Meditation”

  1. Definitely going to try this when I get home. Maybe I should warn my hubby!

    • Yes, a 30 second pre-hug short course would probably be helpful to him. Men love being helpful, especially when it doesn’t cost them anything and takes very little time! 😉

  2. My husband is not a hugger at all. I think people who can’t really hug have great issues with intimacy, which he does. You can always sense when someone really wants the hug to end. It’s really sad. I have to get my hugs elsewhere, and boy do I hug a lot of people! I’d give you a big one too Kim! Thanks for the lovely prayers and light for my dad.

  3. I love this; it makes me think of my recent visit with our daughter at camp. As I was in the ferry line to leave Orcas, we stood and hugged and just couldn’t stop; kept leaning in and breathing together. I told her how clear it made me feel inside, and she said it was the same for her; like standing under a waterfall. Conscious hugging is GREAT!

  4. Yes yes yes! I’m a hugger. And a toucher. Especially hair. I love to touch people’s hair. I own this one.

Leave a Reply

 
