X-Blocks Wishes, Partying Parishioners & Clipper Ship Dreams

15X-Blocks+WishYesterday afternoon I whipped up this little 21″ square design from the new X-Blocks book by Patricia Pepe. It took an hour to cut, sew and cut the blocks, and another half hour to sew the blocks together and another 15 minutes to step back and  admire my handiwork (that’s my favorite part).

I wasn’t entirely sure that I was going to teach an X-Blocks class this fall, but now there is no doubt! I’m only willing to teach a class if I feel that there is something I can add to a pattern or book, something that will help students feel they have gotten their money’s worth. I’m really looking forward to seeing the quilts that this class will produce!

A Forest Full of Partying Parishioners

15NancyHow many Episcopalians does it take to man a barbecue grill? Four. Three men watching one Nancy. (Have I ever told you? Nancy is a VERB in our church. We have three of them, and not only are they very verbal, they get a LOT done!)

It was a perfect evening for a BBQ and a perfect setting for the setting of choristers and their kith and kin.

Food was good (chocolate chip cherry ice cream, YUM!), the company even better, and the forest clearing held an aura of serenity that kept us all full of smiles and contented sighs.

I know I’ve told you this before, but 15Dogshave I told you lately what a wonderful church family I have?

Oh, and the official greeters, a Maltese and a full set of Schipperkes. I want one! What manly little tough guys with strong builds. Bobbi, our hostess and fellow dog lover, is my partner in the alto section. We trade cute stories, sad stories and proud stories of our dogs during choir practice. She’s every bit as crazy about her dogs as I am about mine, so you know she’s good people.

Clipper Ship Dreams

Big Man tookClipperShip-1 this picture last night about 2am. He was at the docks in San Franciso, working to literally bring home the bacon. (He drives a refridgerated semi truck.)

At the end of compline prayer there is a short prayer that never fails to grab my heart and hurl me into its plea:

O God, your unfailing providence sustains the world we live in and the life we live: Watch over those, both night and day, who work while others sleep, and grant that we may never forget that our common life depends up on each other’s toil; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

I love that the Episcopal church seems to have a prayer for each and every situation!

~ by Kimberly Mason on July 16, 2009.

8 Responses to “X-Blocks Wishes, Partying Parishioners & Clipper Ship Dreams”

  1. Hi Kim,
    It never, ever entered my mind that there was anything about you that wasn’t real. Enjoying your blog, but always love seeing you in person.

  2. I love that part of Compline too… And the quilt is great!

  3. I wish I could come take your quilt class! And that is my favorite compline prayer as well. Just makes me gooshy.

  4. There is nothing about this post that I do not love. Your little blocks are darling. And Nancy as verb, oh, my! I must share this with the other Nancys that I know (we are all of a certain age and there was a point in time when a couple of us were on church council together — by gum we got things done!). And the clipper ship. Do you know about me and my beloved and our adventures on clipper ships? Seems it would be your kind of thing indeed. And if you ever travel east to give a class, sign me up!

    • I’ve forwarded the link to your posting about your clipper ship adventure to Big Man, I DID remember that you had made the trip. Wow, what a trip!

  5. PS: The prayer is the bestest part of all. We Lutherans have something to learn from you Episcopalians.

  6. Love the quilt. Very cool. I can’t wait for the class.

  7. Clipper Ship Dreams! Yummy! Truckers. There’s something romantic in my great brain about these modern cowboys. Corny but true. That rambling fever in the blood, the need obligation to care for families but see them not near enough, to view at all times of day and night the beauty God has created. And hey – I like it that you call your grrom “Big Man”.

    “And one Nancy” giggling. I love it!!

    Your eye, your wit…you’re so cool.

Leave a Reply

 
