New Summer Tote Bag Complete

ToteWhat do you think of my “shabby chic” distressed wood background? Pretty cool, I know. But that’s my front porch and it needs painting – I have paint, don’t have the ambition.

The pictures I have incorporated into the design of my new summer tote bag are both from about 10 years ago. The photo on the front pocket is what I love to call “Maddog Mason and the Lollipop Kid.” The 17CloseupTotephotograph was taken while on vacation at a seaside resort. My sons Mason and Shane are now 20 and 17 *sob* grown up and going away! Because the colors in the photograph blend with the colors in the fabric, the pocket doesn’t scream “Family Photo Album Purse!” (At least I hope not.)

The appliqued flowers are a wool blend, free form cut, the buttonhole stitch by hand, the applique straight stitch by machine. The picture doesn’t do them justice, they really “pop” in person and make for a cool three 17insidedimensional look.

Inside the bag I fused in a photo of my oldest son, Stosh, and I with a stringer of Channel Cats we caught on Sprague Lake. Real beauties!

That’s all the fun I have for you today. It is too dang hot to even think straight.

“A bird does not sing because he has an answer. He sings because he has a song.” -Joan Walsh Anglund

TODAY’S EXERCISE: Couch to chair in front of fan to kitchen for icy pops

~ by Kimberly Mason on July 17, 2009.

3 Responses to “New Summer Tote Bag Complete”

  1. Oh, it is SPLENDID! Just splendid.

  2. Vera, vera sweet indeed!

  3. Wow, you are quick. Didn’t I just see pieces of it yesterday at the shop? Didn’t you just pick out the lining YESTERDAY? Incredible!!!

Leave a Reply

 
