The SWW Rainy Daze Festival of Quilts & a Question For You

QuiltShowThis weekend the SWW Rainy Daze Festival of Quilts was held in Napavine. GORGEOUS! If you live nearby, I hope you were able to attend, if not, go next year! Those ladies really know how to put on a good show.

The photographs above are of my own quilts, I don’t have permission to post other ladies quilts, so I won’t. I hope they post pictures on their website later.

Now for my question, when you go to a quilt show (or art show or whatever kinda show of whatever you are into that is displaying the work of others that you are interested…), do you usually come away from the show feeling INSPIRED to go home and create or feeling rather INTIMIDATED by the work of others?

That’s the question: Do you come away inspired or feeling intimidated?

I’m off to church this morning and then a meeting of the Art Quilt Group in Olympia at Ruby Street Quiltworks – where, hopefully, some of my quilted sisters will be able to prop me back up. (If you haven’t guessed it already, I get INTIMIDATED at quilt shows.)

~ by Kimberly Mason on July 19, 2009.

5 Responses to “The SWW Rainy Daze Festival of Quilts & a Question For You”

  1. I go to quilt shows, craft shows, exhibits, etc., for a couple of reasons. One is that I admire the work of the really good artisans, and it is a soul feast for me to see beauty that comes from another’s hands. The second reason is inspiration. My deficit is discipline. I have motivation, dedication, and the desire to do amazing work (and I think there is some skill tucked in there somewhere), but without the discipline to stick to it, things don’t happen. I think I’m missing the ‘d’ gene. I mention this because it is related to the intimidation factor. I think that if I got around to applying myself I could do some really good work. But since I don’t, I don’t know what my limitations are, and thus intimidation isn’t a factor. Make sense? But the work does really inspire me, gives me ideas, has the effect of endorphins. This doesn’t mean that I don’t get intimidated sometimes by the work of others. Creative genius intimidates me, because I do know that I don’t have any of that.

    This is, no doubt, way more than you wanted in the way of a response.

  2. Inspiration

  3. A bit of both. I’m not a quilter, but I do make cards using rubber stamping. Some of those folks out there are AMAZING! On the one hand I think there’s no way I could do that (but like Anne I think it might be more about the discipline of working on my craft), but on the other hand I get all sorts of ideas for things that I am willing to dedicate myself to doing…

  4. I go to quilt shows for inspiration. I love to see what others are creating. I am never intimidated as I only quilt for me. (Bloggers intimidate me!)

  5. I go mostly for the Wow factor. I love seeing what other people are capable of but I know that I’m never going to make something that ornate since I make stuff mostly to be used. If I was trying to reach that level then I might be intimidated.

Leave a Reply

 
