So You Think You Can Dance

I know I’m a week late in posting about this, but I wait until Sunday to watch each week’s episodes and…and I couldn’t…I still haven’t processed the beauty and depth of the dance.

The dance is a tribute to those suffering from breast cancer, but I felt a voice louder and broader. I saw my own suffering – the suffering of everyone – portrayed in the movement of Melissa. And Ade became the very breath of God, the arms of a Savior, lifting her/us up, crying with us, holding on to us. And when we try to hurl ourselves into the nothingness of grief and despair, He is there to catch us.

The quality of this video doesn’t do the dance justice, of course, but it is what it is and it is achingly beautiful nonetheless.

I’ll leave you with this from St. Catherine of Siena, it is as lovely as the dance. Meditate on this for a moment:

[ SMELLS OF GOOD FOOD ]

Truth never frightens.
I remember once walking out in the winter
to greet my father as he returned from work.

He was a little late that night
and I waited by a street corner near our house.

The cold can enliven thanks, my wool coat
became a sacred robe, how happy I felt to be alive.

I waited in a world of magic,
smells of good food,
the street lamps, the smoke coming from chimneys,
the snow.

Angels feasted, as I did, on existence and God kept saying,
“Have more of what I made.”

I saw him coming. We ran into each other’s arms
and he lifted me as he so often had—
his hands beneath
my arms.

That is what the Truth does:
lifts and lets us
fly.

~ by Kimberly Mason on July 29, 2009.

5 Responses to “So You Think You Can Dance”

  1. Absolutely lovely. The poem, too, lifts and comforts. They are utterly beautiful together.

  2. Wow.

  3. Absolutely breathtaking; thanks so much for this.

  4. When you say “And when we try to hurl ourselves into the nothingness of grief and despair, He is there to catch us.”, my heart does the glitch thing. I know I have grieved hard core in my life and experienced the pain of rennaissance repeatedly. You, with eloquence and grace, my dear friend, have expressed what I know and push away so often in my life. “He is there to catch us.” In the nothingness. My soul whispers yes.

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
