“Daddy, Who’s in My Backyard Today?”

01Backyard

I started my day with a phone call to my dad, “Daddy, who is in my backyard today?”  I’ve made that phone call many times, but this morning I felt a little less annoyed and a lot more grateful than usual. And I had to take a moment to laugh. It’s a good life.

Daddy said01Car the Griffon club was having a training day, not to worry.

I told him I was just worried because the only vehicle I could see from the house was a car that looked “like somethin’ city folk drive”, which tickled Dad.

I know it sounds ridiculous, but if you are wearing camo and are carrying a shotgun while walking around my backyard, I’m not worried. If you drive a clean, new Toyota hatchback – without paw prints or a kennel in the back – into my backyard and park it, I’m suspicious.

What’s a Griffon, you ask? I’m so glad Bessie-1you asked! Wirehaired Pointing Griffon, stage right, a picture is worth a thousand words!

I can’t believe I’m saying this, but it’s ONLY supposed to get up to 90 degrees today and I’m thrilled! I may even get some sewing done today. I hope you are able to stay cool.

Please take a moment to read through the following poem by Kabir – you’ll be glad you did!!!

[ I HAD TO SEEK THE PHYSICIAN ]

I had to seek the Physician
because of the pain this world
caused me.

I could not believe what happened when I got there—
I found my Teacher.

Before I left, he said,
“Up for a little homework yet?”
“Okay,” I replied.

“Well then, try thanking all the people
who have caused
you pain.

They helped you
come to
me.”

~ by Kimberly Mason on August 1, 2009.

2 Responses to ““Daddy, Who’s in My Backyard Today?””

  1. Well, I suppose we all need to know WHO is in our backyard on any given day. :c) Hope it cools off there soon. We have finally gotten some much needed rain and though the temps are lower, the humidity has been off the charts…. as well as the mosquitoes… slap, slap.

  2. Wow! What a great poem. That’s just, well, stellar! Isn’t that the truth, too? You may not believe this but on my porch this morning I noted to myself “Self, you’re spending more time thinking of “x” than with God.” And I reflected how only recently I was spending so much of my porch time in the palm of Gods hand. That’s because I was ill & distressed. I caught myself in a sense. A drifter. Drifting away during the times when I’m not feeling so scared of MS and life when – and this is what I said to myself – “…this time is as valuable as the time when you’re scared and ill.”

Leave a Reply

 
