Week 1, The Artist’s Way: Protecting the Artist Child Within

“Judging your early effort is artist abuse. . .In recovering from our creative blocks, it is necessary to go gently and slowly. What we are after here is the healing of old wounds—not the creation of new ones. No high jumping, please! Mistakes are necessary! Stumbles are normal. These are baby steps. Progress, not perfection, is what we should be asking of ourselves.” – Julia Cameron, The Artist’s Way

And for heaven’s sake, don’t ask the opinion of someone you know is going to be negatively critical about your work! I did that (sometimes still do that) and that form of self-sabotage is artistic child abuse!

06Bird

Today I am spending the day with Linda at Sugar n’ Spice for our Quilts of Valor meeting—Jesus says “wherever two or three are gathered” there shall be fun and fellowship and Him (or something like that), so I’m going to call it a meeting even if there is only two of us!

Y’all have a beautiful day!

~ by Kimberly Mason on August 6, 2009.

2 Responses to “Week 1, The Artist’s Way: Protecting the Artist Child Within”

  1. I have tried to work my way through TAW, but without success. I would love to try again, and though now would be a great time for my inner artist, external variables are way too wacky to allow for the kind of structure I would need. I will follow your journey with interest, however, and pray that some portion of my artistic soul will benefit.

  2. I agree that looking back is artist abuse – I look at things I created 10 years ago & have one of two reactions: That’s fabulous – I can’t believe I did that! Or, wow, that’s REALLY dreadful – I’m such an uncreative person.

Leave a Reply

 
