The Best Quiltmaking Tip EVER

09SistersSmile.

You’re sewing along, pushing your machine to higher and higher speeds, pressing seams hard and fast, cutting like a mad woman, you’re shoulders start creeping up toward your ears, your back is tensing up and your teeth are clenched – STOP!

Smile. Breathe in, you are an artist. Breathe out, you create beauty and comfort. Gaze at your work with new, soft eyes of love and appreciation for yourself, for the one for which you are laboring, for God.

Feel better?

I made my usual Sunday visit to Sister’s Fabric Shop and came away with some lovely goodies. Ya gotta smile when you see such beautiful fabrics! We have a Kaffe Fassett for Rowan “Mirage Stripe” (the top stripe) and “Paperweight” (at the bottom). I don’t remember who makes the middle fabric, but it’s deeply beautiful! I’m going to make my own version of Mary Mashuta’s cover quilt for a special fundraiser, doesn’t that look like fun?!.

“Recipients of our appreciation are apt to express their own gratitude to others, lengthening the unending, golden chain of connections-in-goodness that stretches across the world.” -Mary Ford Grabowsky, The Way of Mary

~ by Kimberly Mason on August 9, 2009.

5 Responses to “The Best Quiltmaking Tip EVER”

  1. Oh, my; I remember that tension at the sewing machine so well! Wish I’d had you back in those days to give me these wonderful words: sweet, like a verbal backrub!

  2. Lovely fabrics. Oh, and for those tight shoulders and strained neck muscles? A little sewer’s yoga works wonders!!

  3. Oh yes, fun indeed~ I love that cover photo and I cannot wait to see your version! Your simple tip for relaxation is the BEST!

  4. Thank you for this. It is probably one of the best tips yet, and applicable to so many other areas of life!

  5. Awww, how wonderfully happy this made me. It IS the best Quiltmaking tip ever. Thank you. What a lovely post with coffee.

Leave a Reply

 
