Monkeys, Servants and Blog Readers

I’m feeling so scattered today. Pulled in too many directions or maybe without direction at all, idk. But one thing I do know, I’m very grateful. Grateful for the day, for you, for funny videos, for deep, serious reads, for the hope for another day, another new friend and another deep, serious love.

But for now, let’s move on to…

Monkeys Number One, Two & Three:

17PuppyMy granddaughter Emma, son Shane and the Big Man.

What are these two monkeys looking at? Something really cute! Something really fun! Something I want NOTHING to do with!

Big Man thought it would be funny to tell me it was our new puppy (she belongs to the man that was searching for owl pellets in our barn) and while I was busy stomping my foot and laying down the we-are-NOT-getting-a-puppy law — Big Man, Miss Emma and Shane were busy giggling in the grass with a sweet bundle of puppy breath and soft fur.

Of course I ran for my camera as soon as I learned she wasn’t staying. Adorable, but not mine, thank goodness! Silly monkeys.

Monkey Number Four & Servants:

Rachel Held Evans blog is a really good read…and she has a monkey hanging around the page, so she’s cool, right? Go read this blog post, The Difference Between Being Nice and Being a Servant, I dare ya.

Blog Readers:

And speaking of blogs and good reads, do you use a Reader to keep track of your favorite blogs? It makes all the difference in the world, seriously! I can’t believe it took me so long to get my own reader on Google, but now that I have, holy cow! Life is SO much easier!

17MorePuppyGo to Google.com and, well, google the google reader to learn more about it. Or you can go to the Official Google Reader Blog.

Oh yeah, and the Puppy says you should check my design wall. The brown and blue circles quilt top is together and ready for borders. EasyPeasy!

~ by Kimberly Mason on August 17, 2009.

8 Responses to “Monkeys, Servants and Blog Readers”

  1. LOL. You know you want a puppy…. I just came home with one last week. Potty training, chewing.. howling… She’s sleeping on my lap as I read through blogs.

  2. Tee hee hee… imagining your relief when you knew that puppy was not going to be yours Kim! :c)

    Checked out Rachel’s blog… very cool! And, funny that she lives just down the road from me. Small world.

  3. Puppy cuteness!! I know all too well the experience of being tugged into that little one’s heart, a journey that leads to joy as well as lots of frustration (in the short run).

    Quilt progres–way cool! See notes there.

    Rachel’s blog is a good read, adn thought provoking. Put me in mind of an article I read via another blog, here: http://www.dailykos.com/storyonly/2009/8/12/143620/178
    (sorry I don’t know how to do the hyperlink thing here). I love Joan Baez to start with, but this is more about the situation than her, specifically. She is looking amazing!

    Love coming here to visit, Kim, as always!

  4. Kim, I am a 49 y.o. wife, mother of 4, quilter (quilt artist?….I don’t know–I make non-traditional quilts that I’d like to call art, but am not comfortable calling myself an artist…..yet), episcopalian all my life, (I have a paying job, too, but it doesn’t really define who I am)–and I love your blog. I stumbled upon it a few months ago and have been lurking on a nearly daily basis. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and pics. Cute puppy! Had a beagle once–they are difficult pets…..cute, but difficult.

    • Glad to meet you! We have so much in common (though you are WAY older than me! haha).

      If you aren’t calling yourself an artist in public yet, you ought to try just saying it quietly to yourself for a while maybe the title will stick! 😉 Have you looked into the book “The Artist’s Way” by Julia Cameron? I’m on my second time through her book, it’s a 12 week program, but I take about 12 months. (Always the rebel.)

      I’ve only been an Episcopalian since December 2007 when I was received by the Bishop…now I’m Jr. Warden and getting ready for Bishop visit this Sunday (my first as a vestry member) and I’m a bit nervous! I love this church so much, I feel like I’ve finally come home.

      And beagle, yikes! I had an American Foxhound once, my grandfather raised them and field trialled them throughout the South. A difficult pet…at best. I feel like I’ve dodged a bullet. LOL

      Thanks for listening, Kim

  5. Puppy looks familiar. My youngest daughter has a small Beagle puppy that is about 6 months old and she is so cute and fun as long as she is like grandchildren and goes home after a visit. My granddaughter also has a 5 year old Beagle (small one) who is a hunter type and doesn’t get off her leash when she is here or we wouldn’t see her again. Gives us lots of exercise taking her for walks in the woods. Last time she was here she saw a deer and just quivered. Dorothy

    • Oh Lordy, Dorothy, that mean ol’ man held that puppy to my face, grinning like a mad man, saying, “Look, we have a new puppy! Isn’t she cute??!!”

      I nearly went into hysterics….okay, actually I DID go into hysterics! LOL “Nooooooooo!” I cried, and then went into a litany of reasons why adding another dog to this household would be oh so stupid! And besides that, a BEAGLE??? Absolutely not! 😀

Leave a Reply

 
