Lost Connections

19LostConnectionsI’ve been spending so much time in front of one tool or another — a stove, an iron, a sewing machine, washer, dryer, television, computer — that I have lost connection with the living, breathing, growing, the ever changing and created.

So busy being creaTIVE and the creaTOR that I have let my connection with creaTION wither and fall away.

This morning, for the first time in weeks, I took my cameras with me for a little tour around the back yard. I’ve been “away” for so long that I’ve lost the connection, I’ve lost the story. When did the roses stop blooming? The grass is so dry, the weeds are so plentiful, uncut field grasses are head high and the thistle has bloomed and blown. When did this happen? Was I away that long?

A little neglect may breed mischief …
for want of a nail, the shoe was lost;
for want of a shoe the horse was lost;
and for want of a horse the rider was lost.

-Benjamin Franklin
Poor Richard’s Almanac, preface (1758)
~ by Kimberly Mason on August 19, 2009.

3 Responses to “Lost Connections”

  1. I’m so often Ms. Oblivious – since we’ve moved I’ve tried to be more intentional about noticing my natural world…

  2. It is so easy, isn’t it? Look away for a bit, and everything seems to have moved on in its season. I have to make myself stop and take a deep breath at times too and really see again. Hugs to you Kim!

  3. This happens more often than I care to admit. And och! the weeds in my garden visible to my neighbors (never mind me as I pull into the driveway) is abhorrent! I have to say, though, that if you are overlooking the every day for the things you do otherwise, life isn’t all bad!

Leave a Reply

 
