A Google Blog Reader How To

If you are a blog reader, you need a Blog Reader! You will rise up and call me blessed for pointing you to the True Way to Blog Reading Bliss, I promise! Here’s how to do it…

Go to http://www.google.com (see below) and then click on the word “more” and then click “Reader”.

21StepOne

When you click on the “Reader” link, you end up here.

21StepTwo

And here they ask you if you “Have trouble keeping up with the sites you visit?” and you answer them, “Yes, by golly, I do!” And then you hit the “Create an account” button (if you don’t already have a Google account) or sign in (if you do).

It takes only a minute to create an account, don’t be scared! And don’t worry that your email will get spammed, I can’t think of a single time Google has sent me mail other than to confirm my account registration.

Here is what my Google Reader page looks like first thing in the morning:

21Account

Can you see how some of the blogs I subscribe to (far left column) are in bold print with a “(1)” beside their names? That means that the blog has been updated with a new post and I have not read it yet.

I simply click on the link and I am taken to that day’s posting:

21Page

Okay, now go have some blog reading fun!

“Three things in human life are important. The first is to be kind. The second is to be kind. The third is to be kind.” –Henry James

~ by Kimberly Mason on August 21, 2009.

3 Responses to “A Google Blog Reader How To”

  1. That looks easier than the dashboard on blogspot…which always has to pop them up in another window and sometimes you get it popped up in continuous windows. Reader, here I come!

  2. I use dashboard too – I’ll check out Reader to see if I like it better – thanks!

  3. I use Bloglines, which basically does the same thing, although my RSS feeds only show up in my daily list if they’ve been updated. I don’t know what I did before subscribing to a reader service, especially now that I follow some 70+ blogs! But, sometimes, I find that Bloglines is not updating certain feeds and I’ve missed a week’s worth of posts… may just have to check Google’s reader out! Thanks for the tip Kim!

Leave a Reply

 
