Painting, Quilting & Pondering Cheerfulness

My Evil Son Shane has taken his camera with him to his 24QuiltingCollagedad’s house for the week. Imagine that, taking his very own camera away from me! And what does this mean to you? It means inferior pictures of my quiltmaking progress until he brings the camera back.

All of my outdoor photographs are taken with my phone camera  (Sony Ericsson 580i), but my phone camera is useless indoors.

My design wall is being painted today anyway (hurrah!) and I have four blocks left to quilt on my blue/brown Roundabout Road quilt. Here you can see the front and back of two of the blocks. Can you believe that I have done all this quilting with my walking foot and NO marking?

Pondering Cheerfulness…

24DawnIt’s a glorious morning, kissed with the promise of a bright, quiet, mild summer day. What are you meditating on today? What are you pondering? Don’t try to tell me that you aren’t ruminating over something, we all are, all the time. Reach back into your mind and think about what kind of thoughts are running through your mind. Are they happy thoughts? Kind thoughts? Worried thoughts? Painful thoughts?

This morning as I read the “Collect for the Renewal of Life”:

O God, the King eternal, whose light divides the day from the night and turns the shadow of death into the morning: Drive far from us all wrong desires, incline our hearts to keep your law, and guide our feet into the way of peace; that having done your will with cheerfulness during the day, we may, when night comes, rejoice to give you thanks; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

I was struck by phrase “…having done your will with cheerfulness during the day…” Huh. Cheerfulness, eh? Sounds easy — and easy to pass over the phrase without really thinking about what it means — but we all know it’s really very difficult. Whistling while you work is only easy when all is right with the world (our own world, that is) and we are feeling healthy and happy, spiritually and physically strong.

But what about those day or hours when we aren’t feeling quite up to cheerfulness? And if you read carefully, “…that having done…” It sounds to me like it is assumed that we will have done God’s will cheerfully.

I don’t have any answers here, only questions. Maybe another day.

~ by Kimberly Mason on August 24, 2009.

3 Responses to “Painting, Quilting & Pondering Cheerfulness”

  1. That camera doesn’t do too bad. I can see what you’ve done and I love the design you’ve quilted onto the blocks. You do a great job.

  2. My stress level is vacillating between happiness that I am leaving my job, to… oh, my… what will I do next? :c) I just need to breathe through this week and next, and I know the path will be illuminated. Have a beautiful day Kim.

  3. Glad to see the progress on the quilt–Awesome! As for ruminations, well, I’m doing less ruminating than trying to listen. There’s some rather heavy stuff that I am processing, and there are things I need to learn in order to respond to some challenging matters. So digesting, I guess. Am, feeling exceedingly cheerful to have our son and future daughter-in-law here for a few days. It turns my days upside down, but it’s a happy chaos.

Leave a Reply

 
