Here’s Your Hat, What’s Your Hurry?

You’ve heard it before, “Here’s you hat. What’s your hurry?” said with bright, smiling sarcasm and usually reserved for guests that have outstayed their welcome.

But today I hold a slightly different meaning to the words. I remember this as I struggle to get myself up the first time the alarm rings, for the summer’s hour of forgiveness has ceased to exist.  As I remember to be grateful for the day as I stand in awe of a wall of clouds that seems within arms reach, glowing in the rising of the sun — rising, reaching, seeking the blue above in the promise of a glorious late summer day.02MorningFog

As I check and double check the schedule for the day, hand over my own precious headphones to a teenager who has left his own forgotten at a friend’s, inquire about the state of his wallet and the contents of his backpack.

In a hurry02DayTwo, in a rush to make sure his day begins on time, carrying the right intentions and with the proper understanding. Forgetting that “Have a nice day!” are probably the most important words I will speak this day…and forgetting to speak them.

What’s my hurry?

Scroll down, look at yesterday’s photograph of the departing school bus and see the difference. Already the night is longer and the day begins with a barely risen sun. Fall is marching boldly towards us whether we are there to give heed or whether we rush ahead, ignoring its quiet beauty as it arrives through the death of summer.

What’s your hurry?

I am reminded of my lack of mindfulness as I start to rush around the first Roundabout02RoundaboutChristmas circle of my Christmas quilt, becoming aware of my unawareness only after I am awakened by the pain in my lower lip inflicted by my own teeth. Where am I going in such a rush? How is an anxious tension maintained from top to toe going to improve the quality of my day?

I resolve to slow down today, enjoy the view. I vow to listen, to smile and to breathe. I want to remember that every person I meet today is fighting a Great Rushed Battle of their own — a battle that I cannot understand, cannot win for them, and for which I must show patience and compassion.

At least I’ll give it a try…

“Ever let mercy outweigh all else in you. Let our compassion be a mirror where we may see in ourselves that likeness and that true image which belong to the Divine nature and Divine essence.” -St. Isaac of Syria, Directions on Spiritual Training

Oh! BTW, the design wall is updated!

~ by Kimberly Mason on September 2, 2009.

3 Responses to “Here’s Your Hat, What’s Your Hurry?”

  1. You touch on thing very much on my mind today: mindfulness, observing, breathing. It seems synchronicity is at work with events and a sense of “being…” you, me, Jayne, and no doubt others as well. I’m in my own “hurry up and wait,” wherein I take as long as it takes to feed the puppies, but then am aware of other tasks that are delayed as a result! It is probably ever thus. Christmas? Ah, yes, that march begins to sound louder as we turn the corner from summer and tromp through fall. The good news? We’re in this together!

  2. I’m not much of a mindful person – so I like being reminded that there is value in considering what I’m about during the day. Thanks! But no thanks for mentioning Christmas in September – yikes!

  3. It is a constant struggle, isn’t it? To be mindful and fully present in each moment? Then, something happens which slaps us up side the head and makes us really want to savor each second. A neighbor of my co-worker dropped dead on Tuesday at the age of 48. Yeah. That’ll make you think…

Leave a Reply

 
