Today I Want to Have the Strength, Determination & Courage of a Slug, THIS Slug

05SlugClose
Yes, today I want to have the strength, determination and courage of a slug, this slug.

When I woke up this morning (apparently I’m having a tough time being a nice being in 05Sleepingthe morning lately – there must be something I can learn from that) I remembered that I have NO milk in the fridge and I had forgotten to text The Boy (the offending milk drinker shown left sleeping under quilt and inquiring dog head) to ask him to pick some up on the way home from the Show last night. Grrr. I thought about waking him up to force him to go to the store with me as punishment (irrational, I know, I know) but I let him sleep.

Today, The Boy has the strength, determination and speed of your Average Everyday  Slug—and who can blame him? He’s 17. This was the first week of school. AND he saw 10 bands play last night and probably hardcore two-stepped the night away. It’s an exhausting life!

But today, I want to have the strength05SlugFar, determination and courage of This Slug, he is my inspiration. Why him? Because This Slug rode with me all the way to the store and back. I wonder what he was thinking about (do slugs think???) during the wild 8 mile ride?

“Wheeeeeeeee!”?

And how did he get up there??? How did he hold on at speeds of up to 55 mph? Does slug slime wash away with the rain or will I even remember to worry about it? Why can’t I eat just ONE Skinny Cow ice cream bar?

“Regardless of the name a person uses for the Infinite Force that holds us together, it is the source of our miraculous, unpredictable creativity and our dignity.” -Ashok Gangadean. “Towards a Culture of Peace,” Elixir Magazine, Autumn 2007

~ by Kimberly Mason on September 5, 2009.

7 Responses to “Today I Want to Have the Strength, Determination & Courage of a Slug, THIS Slug”

  1. Slugs, ewwww! The slug slime won’t wash away. But WD-40 should take care of any residue (I’m serious! and it won’t hurt the car). And yes, The Boy is of the slug age. Once upon a time I taught at a diocesan summer camp (shudder on the count of three), and the session of teens were affectionately known as the slugs. It’s as primal a metaphor as possibly exists!

    As for the morning grouchy thing, I say embrace the grouch. Every now and then we’re entitled to be grouchy, and the nice thing is that it’s a contrast to our usual demeanor! (I’m behind you sister, 100%!). Grouch on as needed!

    Skinny cows. I have to force myself to eat just one. Reese’s candies, on the other hand, are disappearing out of my refrigerator at an alarming rate, and I’m the only one here.

  2. Ditto the ewwww!

    I try to make my treats seem more exciting than they are – so I don’t feel like I need another one. For example, I take a weight watchers fudge bar, soften it in the microwave a bit (to loosen the stick), take the stick out, add fat free, sugar free caramel sauce & light cool whip – instant lo-cal sundae!

  3. As a kid, we used to pour salt on them… how mean that seems now! And teens? My slug seemed to sleep 12 hours/day during the summer break. I was literally not sure he could stay awake once school started! Must take lots of rest for that brain to process and grow. :c)

  4. That slug definitely wasn’t ready to give up despite those winds! It was probably wondering when the wind was going to get out of its face and leave it in peace! Then of course once peace came it wasn’t for very long and it then had the wind in its face once again as you drove home. But in spite of that it clung on and got through it all. That really is determination for you!

  5. Asking questions are genuinely nice thing if you are
    not understanding something completely, but this article provides good understanding even.

  6. Hey! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout
    out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading your blog
    posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go
    over the same subjects? Thanks a lot!

  7. leffingwell

Leave a Reply

 
