My Son the Guest Vocalist & a Thanksgiving

asdfasdfasdfIn Saturday’s post I told you about two slugs: one stuck to my car (the actual slug) and one sleeping on my couch (the blonde singer to the left on the right).

That looks like a whole lotta fun to me, no wonder he slept until noon! Every time he goes to a Show (that’s what the kids call concerts now) he gets asked onstage to do “guest vocals” for someone. I really, really, REALLY admire his courage, his style and his confidence. What an awesome kid.

This week I would like to spend some time giving thanks, and I mean really, really, REALLY giving thanks. Not just the kind of thank you that you toss quietly to the man that holds the door open for you as you cross paths entering and exiting the corner grocery store, but real Thanks with a capitol “T”.

The following prayer is from The Common Book of Prayer. I ask you to join me in saying this prayer, go ahead and insert your own child’s name or the name of a child you love or you could even insert your own name (after all you are God’s child):

Heavenly Father, you sent your own Son into this world. We thank you for the life of this child, Shane, entrusted to our care. Help us to remember that we are all your children, and so to love and nurture him, that he may attain to that full stature intended for him in your eternal kingdom; for the sake of your dear Son, Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

What are you thankful for today? Where do you find your love and your inspiration?

“Just don’t give up on trying to do what you really want to do. Where there is love and inspiration, I don’t think you can go wrong.” –Ella Fitzgerald

~ by Kimberly Mason on September 7, 2009.

2 Responses to “My Son the Guest Vocalist & a Thanksgiving”

  1. Now, THAT is brave! To just jump up there when asked and sing? Moxie… is that too old a word for it? :c)
    Today I am thankful I do not have to go back into work at a place that was becoming toxic for me. I am thankful I have choices and time and a supportive husband. Thanks, thanks, thanks… I am full of thanks today.

  2. Gratitude. Mmmm…way I’m traveling too.

Leave a Reply

 
