Thank You, President Obama

I love this photo of our president. Do you think that we can all stop focusing on whether we like this guy and focus on the children…

08Obama-1

Thank You, President Obama, you inspire me. You inspire me to gratitude as you embody the strength, determination and stick-to-itiveness to which you call our nation’s children.

In case you missed it, you can read a transcript of President Obama’s speech here: http://www.whitehouse.gov/MediaResources/PreparedSchoolRemarks/

Just before the speech, Big Man was telling me about an Indian man that he sees each week at a truck wash in California. Not only, he said, is the man quietly kind and helpful – which is plenty to admire – but Big Man is amazed when he hears the man jump from speaking in his own language to a customer from his own country to speaking English to speaking Spanish to the next customer, all within the same few moments. It’s hard for me to wrap my head around the idea of just how someone could do that.

We have so much to be thankful for. I know that I whine too much. Whine less, thank more. Worry less, love more.

Today my prayer for thanksgiving is also from The Book of Common Prayer, it is the Thanksgivings for National Life:

Almighty God, giver of all good things:
We thank you for the natural majesty and beauty of this land. They restore us, though we often destroy them.
Heal us.

We thank you for the great resources of this nation. They make us rich, though we often exploit them.
Forgive us.

We thank you for the men and women who have made this country strong. They are models for us, though we often fall short of them.
Inspire us.

We thank you for the torch of liberty which has been lit in this land. It has drawn people from every nation, though we have often hidden from its light.
Enlighten us.

We thank you for the faith we have inherited in all its rich variety. It sustains our life, though we have been faithless again and again.
Renew us.

Help us, O Lord, to finish the good work here begun. Strengthen our efforts to blot out ignorance and prejudice, and to abolish poverty and crime. And hasten the day when all our people, with many voices in one united chorus, will glorify your holy Name. Amen.

~ by Kimberly Mason on September 8, 2009.

6 Responses to “Thank You, President Obama”

  1. The prayer from the BCP is perfect today!

  2. Yes!

  3. Kim, it is a great picture. I read the speech to my 12-year-old son before he went to school today. What a powerful message. I’m a educator, and all I could think was, why hadn’t a president thought to open the school year with a speech sooner. I hope it will become a yearly event.

  4. Uh, this chokes me up. Kim, from the depth of my SOUL I strongly, urgently thank you for posting this.

  5. I simply spent the days before the speech with my jaw dropped open as I heard parent railing that they did not want their children “indoctrinated by him.” Whaaaaaaa? Seriously?????? He has more grace and common sense than any President before him. I just pray he’s able to keep his head held high as he strives to better this nation.

    • Me too!

      My son’s school did NOT play the speech for the kids. I called the school and they claimed that they didn’t know about it. Huh. Really??? I’m still stomping mad about this and am working on trying to figure out what I can do to help, I really don’t want this to happen again next year.

      PLUS, it makes me wonder what else of importance involving the president will the school not recognize because of the general politics of the county? For heavens sake, it was a BACK TO SCHOOL speech! It is the sitting PRESIDENT!! He encouraged kids to stay in school, no excuses! Arrrgh! Evil black man, he must be the antichrist! Whaaaaaaat???? Seriously?????

      I wish I could say I feel a little better after that short rant, but I don’t. Dang!

Leave a Reply

 
