For the Beauty of the Earth, Thank You

09Birds

I have a deep love of ritual—my own personal, made-up rituals.

For instance, on Tuesday nights I love to settle into the Big Chair with popcorn and hot, sugary tea and watch a whole evenings worth of Reality TV from my DVR (I have a secret love for “Flipping Out” and 09Birds-1Rachel Zoe’s show). And I love my morning ritual of bathrobe, bathroom, coffee started, dog #1 outside, dog bowls filled, dog #2 outside, birds fed, dog bones awarded, coffee poured, sit at computer for email, blogs and iPod loading. Ahhhh. A lovely morning begins.

What I don’t love is any interruption of ritual. I can change plans, I can accept interruption, but only if I expect it. If I’m blind-sided by a change in plans I have a hard time recovering. Ridiculous, I know, but I’m working on it.

As I settled myself in for prayer this morning—books opened and ready, readings for today noted in my journal, coffee in the upper right hand corner, canticles cued up on my iPod—I was interrupted by a horrible racket. It was dozens of Red Winged Blackbird Juveniles northern_flicker_10landing on the roof of the barn, claws scraping and scratching to gain hold on the tin roof.

I was irritated at the interruption, the silly common birds, but if it hadn’t been for all them, for all their irritating noise and disruption, I might never have seen the three Northern Flickers in the grass just below my window.

Thank you, Teen-aged Red Wings, thank you!

Today’s prayer, again from The Book of Common Prayer, is in Thanksgiving for the Beauty of the Earth:

We give you thanks, most gracious God,
for the beauty of earth and sky and sea;
for the richness of mountains, plains, and rivers;
for the songs of birds and the loveliness of flowers.
We praise you for these good gifts,
and pray we may safeguard them for our posterity.
Grant that we may continue to grow in our grateful enjoyment
of your abundant creation,
to the honor and glory of your Name, now and for ever. Amen.

And the following quote landed in my email inbox this morning, this is from the Word of the Day, Gratefulness.org:

“There are all sorts of books which describe how to meditate and what formulas to pronounce during these meditations. I do not deny that they are beautiful, useful, and effective. But there are two words which are never mentioned, words which for me are the most powerful of all, words which clarify, which harmonize, and which heal, and these words are ‘thank you’.” -Omraam Mikhael Aivanhov

Thank you.

~ by Kimberly Mason on September 9, 2009.

4 Responses to “For the Beauty of the Earth, Thank You”

  1. You ARE my twin! HATE to have my rituals interrupted (mostly morning, but any ritual will do). At least there was reward in the interruption of this morning. Glad for that! And yes, of course we need to work on getting irritated with interruptions, but, what’s a work in progress without work?

  2. I don’t like being interrupted either – especially in the morning because I don’t allow myself much wiggle room for getting to work on time. However, if hubby wants me to look out the window at a hummingbird or the silly chicken from next door I try to be patient…

  3. And isn’t when we least expect it that we receive such precious gifts? :c) Love that hymn in the Hymnal too… For the beauty of the earth.

    • I’ve been singing that hymn for the last two days! I’m a rather new Episcopalian, so I don’t sing the tune that is in The Hymnal 1982, I wish I still had a piano so I could pluck out the tune. Turn to #416 in your hymnals…..

      For the beauty of the earth, for the beauty of the skies, for the love which from our birth over and around us lies. Christ our God, to thee we raise this our hymn of grateful praise!

Leave a Reply

 
