My Daughter Can Quilt Too! X-Blocks Class Fun

19TaraQuiltsOh yeah, that’s my baby girl, Tara!

There were just two of us at the X-Blocks Table Topper class at Sugar n’ Spice on Saturday…well, three, counting me…four, if you count Linda, Head Quilting Cheerleader and Shop Owner…five, if you count Joey the Shop Poodle.

My daughter, being that she’s MY daughter, couldn’t follow the instructions and do it MY way. She had to strike out on her own and do it HER way. Oh yeah, that’s my baby girl!

19TaraTableTopperA strip piecing error led to her to design her own twist on the X-Blocks table runner — like mother like daughter, how do you think I make most of my innovations? MISTAKES!

“The man who makes no mistakes does not usually make anything.” –William Connor Magee

The only thing I didn’t like about having my daughter in class was because of Joey the Shop Poodle. He fell in love with her as soon as he saw her and wouldn’t even look at me anymore. I’m sad, Joey, really sad. 😦

But I felt like I made a new friend in Janet (my other student) and that made my day! The print that Janet chose to work with is one that I have had my eyes on for a while now, I just can’t decide what to do with it — huh, and now that I have said (typed) that out loud, it sounds pretty ridiculous! Since when has having no purpose for a fabric ever stopped me from buying it?

Here you can see where Janet and I were playing with the options for her table topper. Janet was using the Mini 7.5″ X-Blocks template (my daughter used the larger 7.5″ template):

19JanetOne19JanetTwoJanetThree

Janet is a precision piecer and an expert with the rotary cutter. I’m so glad to have had the opportunity to get to know her better!

~ by Kimberly Mason on September 21, 2009.

3 Responses to “My Daughter Can Quilt Too! X-Blocks Class Fun”

  1. I like what she did. Daughters don’t listen to moms …….. granddaughters listen to you. I have fun quilting with mine. I, too , have had some fun results with mistakes in my quilts.

  2. Great results from what was, I’m certain, an awesome class experience. Sorry about the fickle pooch though, I would be jealous if someone came between me and the affection of any pup.

  3. Ohhhh! These are great blocks. How fun.

Leave a Reply

 
