Crazy Kaleidoscope Quilt Class Fun!

Saturday I had five lovely ladies in my Crazy Kaleidoscope class at the Quilter’s Junction. They wore me out, but we had fun! See?

03CrazyKaleidoscopeClass

I LOVE getting to see a variety of styles in the class and I really loved that we 03SuperBroadall seemed to appreciate each others ascetic. Quilters are really lovely people, aren’t they?!!

And I just had to share the embroidered patch that Quilting Student Extraordinaire, Jackie, had peeking out of the lid of her sewing box. I have censored (but not censured!) the image (my mother reads my blog!), I hope you don’t mind. Jackie told us that this is the patch she would wear on her jacket when she worked as the only woman in a sawmill in Roseburg, Oregon. She’s a young 73 and I bet she would be a real HOOT (no offense to any Spotted Owls out there) to have a beer with.

“The be-all and end-all of life should not be to get rich, but to enrich the world.” -Bertie Charles Forbes

03TaraHexKaliBWMy daughter, Tara, attended class again, her block is the one in the upper right corner of the collage. And here, look at another of the blocks that she put together. Isn’t she amazing?!

Challenges make you discover things about yourself that you never really knew. They’re what make the instrument stretch — what makes you go beyond the norm.”–Cicely Tyson

Oh, hey, and Carla, if you read this, tell Heidi hello from me! She was a joy to have hanging around!!

~ by Kimberly Mason on October 4, 2009.

4 Responses to “Crazy Kaleidoscope Quilt Class Fun!”

  1. These are way cool! Would love to see the finished products!

  2. hmm. that was my comment above. Usually the name, etc., is all filled in–don’t know what happened to it!

  3. Jealousy…I feel it sweeping right through me…now all I see is in shades of green…Oh I am suffering from jealousy…Jealousy…I live in bama. Kim teaches in washington. That’s a million miles far away….Oh I am suffering from jealousy… Why do they hear her voice and I don’t? It’s just not fair…Why do they see her work and I can’t?…Oh jealousy see see see…

    Sung to melody of Yesterday by the Beatles. Completely out of tune. Completely off meter and rhyme. Completely with gusto and big smiles! Perhaps more coffee is in order before typing?!

    I love these photos. And of course I sent good vibes for a wonderful class.

    Much love my friend.

  4. Thanks for the picture of my patch. Yes I reallly like it. Going to sew it on something else soon. Let me know when you are ready for the beer. I would love to have one with you.

Leave a Reply

 
