A Little RoadWork Comfort & a French General (by Moda)

13RoadWorkWe have an informal “Inquirer’s Class” after church on Sunday where we can take our coffee and goodies (from the Second Sunday Sacrament, aka Coffee Hour) into our meeting room and have the opportunity to ask Father T. anything we want to know. This week we discussed our various definitions of words and how it affects the way we understand our prayers (from the BCP) and the bible.

I was surprised to learn that the word “comfort” has more to it’s meaning than I knew:

–verb (used with object) 1) to soothe, console, or reassure; bring cheer to. 2) to make physically comfortable. 3) Obsolete. to aid; support or encourage. –noun 4) relief in affliction; consolation; solace. 5) a feeling of relief or consolation. 6) a person or thing that gives consolation. 7) a cause or matter of relief or satisfaction. 8.) a state of ease and satisfaction of bodily wants, with freedom from pain and anxiety. 9) something that promotes such a state. 10) Chiefly Midland and Southern U.S. a comforter or quilt. 11) Obsolete. strengthening aid; assistance.

I like to think that when you “soothe, console or reassure” someone you love that you also 13roadWork2strengthen them.

I’ve been working on some comforting and warm rice bags, “RoadWork.” Making these rice-filled, soothingly scented patchwork bags of Comfort is my latest mission. Zap one in the microwave or stash one in freezer, hot or cold it’s instant Comfort.

Big Man says he won’t go to bed without his, Guitar Hero (aka my son Shane) woke up this morning asking for one. I won’t leave the house for a walk without one in each pocket. The heat lasts for 15 to 45 minutes (the larger the bag, the longer the heat lasts) and the Love given lasts even longer…

13FrenchGeneralStart-1Now to the French General, I have a start on a table runner. Have I told you that I’m in love with the French General? Oh oh oh and Oooo la la!

This block is the disappearing nine patch. Go to the Moda Bakeshop and you will find a pattern for a Christmas Table Topper. Go to P.S. I Quilt to find a super easy tutorial. The disappearing nine patch is a super fun way to use charm packs, have fun!

And finally, this quote of the day was a perfect way for me to start my day, I hope it helps give you Comfort:

“Those who dwell, as scientists or laymen, among the beauties and mysteries of the earth are never alone or weary of life.” -Rachel Carson

~ by Kimberly Mason on October 13, 2009.

4 Responses to “A Little RoadWork Comfort & a French General (by Moda)”

  1. Oh, golly, you’ve actually got your hands on some! I’m reaching out, trying to fondle, perhaps abscond with some . . . . .

    • My local shop owner said she thought the bolts were “on the truck” and due to be delivered this week, but for now, I have my lovely charm pack. *happy sighs* It is SO lovely and luxurious…

  2. Lots of lovely things today. Thanks for the rice bags idea, great stocking stuffers!

  3. Love the tags on the rice bags!

Leave a Reply

 
