FarmVille Farmer’s FABULOUS Fall Stew Recipe

I just had another small bowl of my new Stew and decided I MUST share the recipe. This is waaaay to good to keep to myself.

21FarmVilleTop

The FarmVille Farmer’s FABULOUS Fall Stew Recipe

1½ lbs beef tenderloin or bison, cut into one-inch cubes
2 leeks, white and light green only, cut into chunks and well rinsed
3 medium-sized cooking onions, cut into chunks (I used an Italian onion)
3 carrot, peeled and chunked
3 parsnips, give ’em the carrot treatment
1 small can whole tomatoes
1 small can small potatoes (trust me, canned holds up best!), drained
lotsa garlic
olive oil
½ cup whole-wheat flour (I used graham flour)
sea salt and black pepper
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp dried basil
1 cup low-sodium, low fat broth (chicken, vegetable or beef)
1 cup light beer
A1 Steak Sauce, some
Freshly ground red pepper flakes (to taste)

1. Place flour, salt, pepper, oregano and basil large zip-lock bag, add meat and shake, shake, shake. Brown meat in oil, de-glaze pan with beer and simmer for a few minutes. Drink remaining 4 ounces of beer while flavors develop.
2. Meanwhile, heat oil in large Dutch oven and saute the garlic and onions until soft. Add remaining vegetables, except canned potatoes, cook 5 at least minutes more.
3. Toss meat into Dutch oven, add broth and a couple a shakes of A1 Steak Sauce. Check seasoning.
4. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Add potatoes and cook over low heat or covered in oven for 30 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Add broth if it starts looking too thick.

21FarmVilleBottom

Oh, and for dessert, hop on over to Nancy’s blog and try her latest favorite: Coconut Banana Bread with Lime Glaze.

~ by Kimberly Mason on October 21, 2009.

5 Responses to “FarmVille Farmer’s FABULOUS Fall Stew Recipe”

  1. Yummy! I, too, drink the beer or wine while simmering. I figure I need to do the quality taste testing to insure freshness. HA!

  2. Hey, girlfriend, we’re having company for dinner on Saturday. Now my main course uncertainty is solved! This sounds GLORIOUS! I love parsnips. Now that they are All Grown Up, my kids actually REQUEST Silver Palate’s Pear and Parsnip Puree . . . Oh, how I do run on! We had the banana bread for breakfast. I think next time I’m going to grate up some lime zest and throw into the glaze with the juice . . . .

    • I hate to admit that I’ve never tried parsnips until I tried this recipe. Shame on me for missing such a great veggie all these years!!!

  3. OMG, this sounds wonderful! I’d make it with bison–when I do, I’ll let you know!

    • I’m going to try bison this next week, then maybe I won’t feel so guilty about the expense and the sat fat of the beef, but get the gooooood beefy flavor!

Leave a Reply

 
