I’m Not Really Back Yet…

I got out and about yesterday for a bit, but I’m back in and under (the weather) today. This is the most frustrating flu bug ever! I’m sick, but I’m not THAT sick. Arrrrgh! I thought was getting better, but now I’m chair bound again — computer chair and television chair.

Anyway, I was able to cook a couple of good meals yesterday, but really I think it was more self defense than anything else. Big Man brought me pizza and ice cream Monday night and I decided I couldn’t eat one more meal with a tomato sauce in it (pizza, spaghetti, tortellinis — the extent of Big Man’s repertoire).

I put together a really beautiful stew to send with Big Man on his trip. I bought the vegetables at the Chehalis Farmer’s Market, just look at the organic loveliness!

20Produce

I wish you could have seen Big Man’s eyes as he took his first bite. You know that look, that look of sudden recognition of tasty awesomeness? Yup, that look. His only complaint was that I didn’t put enough meat in the stew, but I told him that he couldn’t have afforded “enough meat” — I used tenderloin.

I know, I know, stop with all your shocked gasps of horror! When I was at the store debating with myself over buying stew meat or tenderloin I remembered my Ex-Mother-in-law’s pot roast. Ya see, my X-MIL made the BEST pot roast ever. EVER!

One day I asked her what her secret was and she said, “Well, first you take the prime rib roast and…”

I couldn’t even let her go on with her story. “Prime Rib roast????” I shouted, “Why would you take a perfectly good prime rib roast and pot roast it?”

“Well, Bill (her husband, who raised Angus cattle) doesn’t like prime rib and besides, it makes really good pot roast.” Uh, yeah! I’d say.

Anyway, I also tried a new “boxed meal” for supper — Restaurant Favorites, Wanchai Ferry Cashew Chicken.

20Dinner

All you add is the chicken, though I would add pineapple chunks and sweet onion next time. Mmmmm, good!

I bought yarn for yet another scarf, some goat’s milk lavender scented soap and some dried lavender.

20YarnLavender

I ADORE lavender *happy sighs* and I can’t seem to get enough. And I’m lovin’ the knitted and woven scarves look that the Ladies of the Church are rockin’, so I’ve been knitting during television time. See?

20Scarves

Yeah, I know it’s sideways. Just tip your head to the right…

“When we can begin to take our failures nonseriously, it means we are ceasing to be afraid of them. It is of immense importance to learn to laugh at ourselves.”–Katherine Mansfield

Mystery Link: Roundabout_Road

~ by Kimberly Mason on October 21, 2009.

3 Responses to “I’m Not Really Back Yet…”

  1. You’re hilarious. I love lavender too – mmmm. I’ll bet that stew was really good!

    Here’s hoping you recuperate a little more quickly – although you’d better listen to your body on that!

    • Thank you for the well wishes….I wish I could absorb them through me….hey, wait a minute, I’ll try basking in the glow of my monitor…….I’ll add a little lavender and see if that helps…mmmmmm!

  2. Ah Friend I am sad that you are not feeling together. Rallying my body to take care of troops is a challenge at best. We in AL are currently buggy too. I have the Old Green Tractor flu, the one that causes, during a nice stroll through the fields, the cough and sputter before resuming.

    So ironic – I cook too when I’m not feeling well. There’s something about dicing, rolling dough and both oven going that brings comfort. Of course, I have the GermX pump duct taped to my hip, gun slinger style, on the ready. Recipes will be posted tomorrow.

    Much general love and get well vibes coming your way.

Leave a Reply

 
