X-Blocks Class Fun at the Quilter’s Junction

28Judith

I spent the day at the Quilter’s Junction in Centralia yesterday teaching the X-Blocks table topper class. Judith, Barbara and Phyllis had me all to themselves, so we were able to cut and sew and talk at our own pace. How nice that was!

And can you believe that in under 4 hours Judith finished her top? Judith proved that you CAN socialize and sew at the same time (I have trouble with that myself, it must be all that blonde hair under my red dye ♥).

And here you see Phyllis and Barbara at work:

28XBlocksFunI can’t believe I didn’t get any pictures of Barbara’s table topper! She used a really cute penguin fabric that I was so crazy about that she gifted me with a half yard of it! Woo hoo! I love making friends at class.

Oh, and here is a picture of the blocks that Phyllis completed in class. She emailed me this morning and said she has all of her blocks together and will be putting the border on today or tomorrow. Yay Phyllis! Please note that my camera flash DESTROYED the beautifully elegant burgandy and green tones of her batiks, BUT you can clearly see her precisely pieced points:

28PhyllisIt was a good day, in a good place with some good ladies. Thanks be!

~ by Kimberly Mason on October 29, 2009.

3 Responses to “X-Blocks Class Fun at the Quilter’s Junction”

  1. I’d love to have seen the penguin runner – you know I’m crazy for them!

  2. As someone who cannot sew well, I am always in awe of people who can. It really isn’t just a skill, in the right hands it becomes an art form. From the pictures above? Clearly, those are the right hands. I think there’s something nearly magical about quilting, it’s like a time machine in so many ways — visiting the ways in which women drew together in the past, practiced a skill, formed their own society, shared concerns, and created.

    I’m sure there’s a huge metaphor for life in there somewhere. Something about piecing it all together, into a beautiful pattern from the odds and ends. Patterns in the chaos, purpose from scraps. However, I’ve never been gifted at metaphors, so I’ll stop now!

Leave a Reply

 
