Tis the Season (Almost) for a Giveaway!

When I saw this quilt in the display window at Sister’s Fabric Shop in Chehalis, I clapped my hands with joy, jumped up and down and then ran into the shop shouting, “I MUST make that quilt! Where is the pattern? What fabric did you use? I want THAT fabric!”

Now let me tell you something you may not know about me: I do not buy patterns, I do not copy quilts on display in quilt stores. But THIS quilt called to me, and called loudly.

But, alas, I find that I will not have the time this year to make this quilt. So I am going to offer YOU the opportunity. I have the pattern and I’m willing to mail it to one of you. Here are the rules for the giveaway:

  1. Leave a comment in my blog, anywhere in my blog, and say that you would like to be entered into the pattern giveaway.
  2. Tell me a little something nice about your mother, your best friend or your dog (or cat) – you choose.

That’s it, that’s all you have to do. Thursday evening I will draw a random number and choose the winner and I will email the winning entry. If you get back to me with your snail mail address I will have this popped into the mail and into your home by Saturday morning! Good luck!

Share the Love! news

I have made 80 tissue cozies, given away 50. There have been over 535 visits to the Travel-sized Tissue Cozy Tutorial in the last 10 days. Thank you for helping to spread the Word! But don’t stop, tell two friends today. Send them my way and Share the Love!

I’ll be stopping by the store on my way home from choir practice tonight. As you can see, I’ve run out of tissue packs. Can I get you anything while I’m in town?

“Even if our efforts of attention seem for years to be producing no result, one day a light that is in exact proportion to them will flood the soul.” -Simone Weil

TODAY’S EXERCISE: Holy crap, not again. What is this? A reality diet and fitness show? Well, if it is, it’s a FAILED reality diet and fitness show!

~ by Kimberly Mason on November 18, 2009.

19 Responses to “Tis the Season (Almost) for a Giveaway!”

  1. P.S. It’s kind of a funny feeling, posting my first Giveaway and wondering if anyone will bother to read my post and enter.

    I feel kinda like a little girl at her first day in a new school, wondering if I will find a friend, if anyone will like me, will I be eating my lunch all by myself or will I be giggling by noontime with a new found friend?

    • Hmmmm…so far I’m eating alone and obsessing. Geez, I really gotta get a grip! I know! I’ll make another Cozy. Make another Cozy and eat a chocolate candy. Make another Cozy, eat a chocolate candy and watch a DVR’d episode of Grey’s Anatomy.

  2. Please include me in your give-away. I have a cat named Junior. He’s named Junior because he was once the youngest of 4 cats, although now he is an only. We found him under the bushes next to our front steps many years ago, burrowed in the mulch on a hot August day. The best we can figure, his mamma was the neighborhood tart & not yet ready for motherhood. He spent a few months being loved to death by a bunch of field hockey players at Indiana University of Pennsylvania, then returned to his roots when one of them was found to be allergic. I would dearly love to get a pair of kittens, but Junior so luxuriates in his only cat status that it would seem cruel to take that away from him. He loves laps that appear in one particular section of the sofa, making “caves” out of the rug in front of the fireplace, and annoying the dog. Someday I will make him a cat cozy.

  3. Hi Kim! Please enter me in your drawing. I am going to tell you something nice about my best friend, my quilty sister, Julie. Julie has the most tender heart but she is absolutely fearless in her loyalty to friends and family. She is a wonderful mother…sort of a “50’s” mom that doesn’t work outside the home but makes a comfortable, welcoming space for her family. She is a fabulous baker, a great cook and an incredible quilter. Her eye for decorating and fabric cannot be matched. She is the best present my parents ever gave me!

    • I always wished I had a sister! Okay, aw geez, I’m SUCH a liar! Never wanted a sister, I love being an only child, but if I HAD to have a sister, I’d so love to have one like yours.

  4. No, you’re not eating alone. I have yet to start on my cozies, so I don’t think I’m a good candidate to take on the quilt (much as I would love to do that). But just in case… I adore my mother! She is always thinking about and doing for other people. My favorite example of that is when my sister-in-law’s sister-in-law moved to a new house, and Mom took a flat of impatiens over and planted them in Amy’s garden. Is that great, or what? And when she was the CEO of a not-for-profit she made brownies to take to board meetings. She is so hospitable that I fear I will never live up to the fabulous role model she has been. I dream about it, and now that I’ve been to Disney I’ve been touched by the dream-bug and want all my dreams to come true!

  5. WOW! I would love to be entered in your drawing! I have a dear friend I’ve never met in person. We met in one of the online rug hooking forums several years ago and now we are both passionate about quilting…taking that journey together long distance. My friend is a Christian, and God put her in my life to help me find my way back to Him. Which I did. She is always supportive and willing to listen…to laugh & cry with me and just be there.

  6. ohoh…forgot…why would I like to be entered in the drawing? Because I love to win things, though that rarely happens. Because I am fairly new to quilting…just this year, in fact, though I have sewn all my life. Because I love that pattern! Wonderful giveaway!

  7. I would very much appreciate being entered into the drawing,thank you.

    I would like to tell you something nice about my husband, he is wonderful and extremely supporting. I have been a SAHM for the past 21 years, he still encourages me to continue to stay home and be available for our children.

  8. I’ll join the lunch table.
    Lets see, I will talk about one of my oldest friends who is one of the best kind!! Low Maintenance!! We met in college and became roommates and did fun silly things like blow up my inflatible boat on spring afternoons and paddle around the lake up in Bellingham, we would ride the bus route for a break from studying (our .25 cent vacations) and we would play tennis against the gym wall when really stressed while listening to Cyndi Lauper. Remember those days?

    We talk about two or three times a year and its like not skipping a beat. No recriminations or self blame for not being better correspondents, just excitement to hear from eachother, support and unconditional love!

  9. Hi Kim, I have your tissue tutorial on my desktop waiting to be made. I love the idea of sharing and will make many to give to tennis team and others at son’s school, husband’s work, etc. I agree that sharing is the best!! I would love to win the pattern, maybe I didn’t buy it when I skipped around the Fab Shop Hop today because fate it with me. Who do I like best today? Not my dogs, they’ve been barking too much. My husband did put my new office chair together. I’m going with my friend Theresa who is putting all her family stress aside to come out and play Bunko with the girls. I think we’ll have several glasses of wine together.

  10. I would love to be entered to win it. I too love that quilt. It is beautiful.
    I will brag on my mom. She was a stay at home mom for my entire lifetime and raised six children and still supports all of us by listening to all our complaints/joys whenever we need her and praying for each of us daily. She is my best friend and I thank God for her

  11. See! You aren’t sitting alone at the lunchtable at all. (Like that would ever happen to you, and if it did, you know I would find someone to use as bait to attract you some friends.) Love ya.

    • This, dear friends, THIS is my dear friend. Let me tell you something nice about her. She makes me laugh like no one else. I mean fall down on the floor and roll around holding your sides laughing while tears roll down your face. And she’s smart, SO smart. She’s tough, she once jumped on a guys back in my defense. And she “gets” me…and even though she gets me she STILL loves me. Isn’t that incredible?

  12. I’m very lucky, I have a sister who is 9 years older than me and she is my second MOM. I talk with her daily and miss her always. Our mother is not well and having my sister has become so important to me.

  13. I would like to included in the free give away if possible. I am very fortunate to have a some special friends who have helped me through the difficult times in my life in particular when I lost my husband to a crippling illness. He fought so bravely and it was John who persuaded to take up quilting and join a quilting group while he was still alive. I thank him everyday as without those faithful friends and my dear sisters I would not have got through the most difficult 3 years of my life . The quilts on your site are a joy to see and inspirational .

    Val

Leave a Reply

 
