Happy Thanks Giveaway!

I am a huge fan of Heather Mulder Peterson of Anka’s Treasures. I want to be her when I grow up. She designs patterns and fabric and sells kits and writes books and blogs and creates tutorials and loved her grandma so much she named her business after her. If you haven’t tried one of Heather’s patterns, here’s your chance.

To participate in this pattern giveaway you must leave a comment in this blog post before noon PST on Sunday, November 29, 2009. In your comment you must:

      1. tell me what YOU enjoy giving away (e.g. smiles, pies, tissue cozies), and
      2. leave the link to a blog or website that really feeds your creative soul and gives to you.

        That’s it! That’s all you have to do to enter. I’ll draw names out of a hat on Sunday evening and will send an email to the winner to request your snail mail.

        “Outwardly one’s life may suffer every kind of limitation, from bodily paralysis to miserable surroundings, but inwardly it is free in meditation to reach out to a sphere of light, beauty, truth, love, and power.” -Paul Brunton, Meditations for People in Crisis
        ~ by Kimberly Mason on November 25, 2009.

        14 Responses to “Happy Thanks Giveaway!”

        1. I’d love to enter your give-away.
          1. What I love to give away is quilts. Ones for expected babies. Ones for weddings. Ones for new houses. And especially ones for no good reason whatsoever. It’s a crazy extravagance, giving away these big, real size quilts. And I just love surprising people with them. It’s just the best feeling.
          2. Here’s a blog that gives to me each time I read it and fills my whole soul, not just the creative part: https://kimquiltz.wordpress.com/ And here’s another: http://www.leehaven.com/ And then there was Mrs. Goodneedle. But, alas, no more.

          • 1. Wow! It really IS an extravagance, a wild extravagance, but really really worth it, right? As for me, my poor family has to fight to get just ONE full sized quilt outta me, but there’s always hope that I’ll change, right? :-\ But it really IS “just the best feeling” and it makes ME feel good just thinking about how good it makes YOU feel. Ha!

            2. Aw, thank you, Miss Nancy! Back at you. Do you realize how many new friends I have found through you and your blog and your giving spirit? OMGoodness, I couldn’t even begin to tell you!

        2. I love giving away quilts for new babies especially, for me it’s like giving a part of myself to keep them warm and safe. The blog that really brings me up emotionally and has also provoked me into happy colors, happy quilting/sewing and happy daily life is http://attic24.typepad.com, http://attic24.typepad.com/weblog/ I’m not sure if I copied/pasted the address making it accessible, but a search of Attic24 will find her.

          • 1. “…to keep them warm and safe…” is a beautiful thought and always a most welcome gift, yes? 2. Holy Cow Wow! I’ve never been to the Attic24, it’s so filled with exciting color! Yummy!

        3. 1. I love giving away . . . cake! Really. People love home made cake. Real cake, made with butter and nuts and fresh eggs. And I love it too, but I only want one piece. So I make a cake and give it away – but ask for one piece. I always get it.

          2. I check this blog every day: http://www.conversiondiary.com/

          • Oh my, um, cake? You are just the best! As I walked into the high school office to give away a pair of tissue cozies to the school secretary, the school counselor walked out of his office as I was putting the tote on the counter and his eyes lit up and he said, “Cake?” 😛

            Thank you for the link to the Conversion Diary! I visited her ages ago, but lost her. Now I’m subscribed!!

        4. Wow, what a great giveaway! I love Heather’s books too. She is amazing, and I love to read her blog. Truthfully I like to help someone, especially when I know that they cannot do anything in return. I do not make a lot of quilts to give, nor do I bake cookies etc. I just love to do for the widow down the street, or the gal who is out of a job and is raising a son all alone. That sort of thing.
          I enjoy reading Becky’s blog http://sweetcottagedreams.blogspot.com/. She always inspires me. And I also enjoy repurposing thrift treasures. Homebody has shared some great ideas.
          http://www.homebodyholly.com/2009/11/thrifty-gifty-series.html
          Wishing you a very Happy Thanksgiving.

        5. This Thanksgiving, I gave away 10 days with my sons and daughters and husband to fly 2479 miles to spend the time with my elderly parents. Does that count? This year I’ve given away my quilts with my quilting ministry group, about 120 total, but I made 10 or so. I gave the plastic bottles and cans we had saved up to a man who was going through garbage cans on our street. He was a young man out of work with a family. I gave away two wool sweaters to the non-English speaking man hanging flyers on doorknobs at dawn last winter. And so far I’ve made one tissue cozy with plans to make many more to hand out on the airplanes that I’ll take home.

          I’ve been visiting http://www.dressaday.com/dressaday.html since 2005 when it started. I don’t sew dresses, but the creativity inspires me and the conversations are fun. I’ve just found http://justsomethingimade.blogspot.com/ and that looks like it’s going to be very inspiring!

        6. I love to give-away aprons. Makes me smile. Next on my list is cooks aprons for 2 of my older grandsons.
          The link I really enjoy is freemotionquilting.blogspot.com Great ideas!!

          • OMGoodness, I just ADORE aprons! I haven’t found a new favorite to make yet, any suggestions for patterns? I like them rather vintage-y and a bit on the sexy side. 😛

        7. […] and don’t forget to enter the GIVEAWAY! Go here for details: https://kimquiltz.wordpress.com/2009/11/25/happy-thanks-giveaway/. You have until noon on Sunday to enter. Good luck! Possibly related posts: (automatically […]

        8. I love to giveaway things I’ve made, and lately that’s been table runners, baby blankets, and hot pads! This weekend I gave away some of my hoarded free time to drive 5 hours to get together with my daughter and granddaughter. I enjoyed it also, so I guess it really wasn’t a giveaway!

        Leave a Reply

                 
