Tissue Cozy Ministry Continues at Sugar n’ Spice

I spent two days at the Sugar n’ Spice fabric and craft store in Morton last week playing the role of shopkeeper while Linda stayed home sick — and I say “playing the role” because all I could do was pretend like I knew what I was doing. Customers would walk into the shop, obviously stressed with last minute Christmas crafting and ask, “Do you have such-n-such?” And I would answer, “Hmmm, I’m not sure. Let’s go look together!”

The picture to the left is inside the shop, I just had to capture an image of Linda’s latest quilt. Snowmen and patriotic red, white and blue! Two of my favorite things in one quilt, who’da thought?!

When I wasn’t dusting, conducting pattern inventory, ringing up sales or searching through shelves, I was sewing more tissue cozies! I kept my box of cozies up on the counter by the cash register and customers would often beat me to the punch and mention the box of pretties. That gave me an opportunity to go into my spiel and invite them to pick out one or two. I can’t help but LOVE the surprised look of joy I would inevitably see on their faces when they understand that they can choose from the box of pretties.

My grand total (so far):

“One of the most calming and powerful actions you can do to intervene in a stormy world is to stand up and show your soul. Struggling souls catch light from other souls who are fully lit and willing to show it.” -Clarissa Pinkola Estes
~ by Kimberly Mason on December 20, 2009.

5 Responses to “Tissue Cozy Ministry Continues at Sugar n’ Spice”

  1. Kim I am sure you did a great job “playing” store. And the tissue cozies are such a hit! I need to make some more, just have not had time to stop and sew 😦

  2. I did not mean to leave my comment as anonymous. Sorry, I missed the box to fill in my info 😉

  3. How sweet of you to mind her store for her. And, as a recipient of your cozies, I know those people were more than thrilled to own one!

  4. Merry Christmas !

  5. Hello, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get
    a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can
    suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any support is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

 
