Pantone’s Color of the Year

This time last year I posted a blog titled “The Light of Epiphany, Pantone’s Color of the Year & You.” As I posted yesterday, I am going through a bit of a creative dry spell and I was hoping that if I looked back at this time last year I might find a bit of inspiration.

Pantone, the global authority on color and provider of professional color standards for the design industries (according to their own press), has announced that, indeed, TURQUOISE is the color of the year for 2010.

Huh.

So, I scanned through my many files of photographs, searching for an image from my own lovingly documented surroundings that says “TURQUOISE” loud and clear. What did I find?

Not a thing. Nada. Nothing. Not a single image of anything in my natural world that even remotely looks like turquoise.

“Combining the serene qualities of blue and the invigorating aspects of green, Turquoise evokes thoughts of soothing, tropical waters and a languorous, effective escape from the everyday troubles of the world, while at the same time restoring our sense of wellbeing.”Pantone

Oh, I see! That’s why I don’t have any images in turquoise, no soothing, tropical waters, just the grey sky of the damp and cloudy Pacific Northwest.

Wait. . .ahhhh, there it is. My eyes are closed, but I can see those waters. . .oh, and look! There’s a beautiful hibiscus flower over there! Don’t you just LOVE red and turquoise quilts?

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 6, 2010.

8 Responses to “Pantone’s Color of the Year”

  1. Thanks Kim — this seems to amongst my favorites to use, so it’s nice to be able to equate it with BE Happy.

  2. There are a lot of loverly turquoise batiks out there. And turquoise goes so beatifully with flamingo pink! YOU would look spiffy in a turquoise boa……

  3. aT LONG LAST, MY FAVORITE COLOR IS IN FAVOR. iT GOES SO WELL WITH MY OTHER TWO FAVS – FUCHSIA AND PURPLE

  4. What did I tell you? HAWAII!!

    Maybe we need to offer a challenge on using turquoise in a quilt with some other randomly selected color. Or last year’s color. Or whatever WE think next year’s color will be!

  5. Finally, the color world has caught up with me! My kitchen counters are dark teal, my living room curtains ($5.00 each shower curtains) are pale turquoise and my sofa is aqua. I revel in the shades of turquoise.

    However, I think Pantone missed the actual color of the year. It’s purple–lavender, violet, lilac. Sur la Table even has enameled cast iron pots in lavender. Quilting magazines are showing purple. I say, let’s have a purple and turquoise challenge!

  6. One of my least favorite colors! I’m surprised it’s this years color, because it’s been everywhere for about five years. Or maybe i’m just sensitive to it because I dislike it so.

    Did you make your little comment box light up with turquoise, or is that just serendipity?

Leave a Reply

 
