A Google Blog Reader How-To (Reposted)

If you are a blog reader, you need a Blog Reader! You will rise up and call me blessed for pointing you to the True Way to Blog Reading Bliss, I promise! Here’s how to do it…

Go to http://www.google.com (see below) and then click on the word “more” and then click “Reader”.

21StepOne

When you click on the “Reader” link, you end up here.

21StepTwo

And here they ask you if you “Have trouble keeping up with the sites you visit?” and you answer them, “Yes, by golly, I do!” And then you hit the “Create an account” button (if you don’t already have a Google account) or sign in (if you do).

It takes only a minute to create an account, don’t be scared! And don’t worry that your email will get spammed, I can’t think of a single time Google has sent me mail other than to confirm my account registration.

Here is what my Google Reader page looks like first thing in the morning:

21Account

Can you see how some of the blogs I subscribe to (far left column) are in bold print with a “(1)” beside their names? That means that the blog has been updated with a new post and I have not read it yet.

I simply click on the link and I am taken to that day’s posting:

21Page

Okay, now go have some blog reading fun!

“Three things in human life are important. The first is to be kind. The second is to be kind. The third is to be kind.” –Henry James

~ by Kimberly Mason on March 8, 2010.

5 Responses to “A Google Blog Reader How-To (Reposted)”

  1. I have been using google reader for years (since it was pretty much still a beta program) – I love it. I have tried others, but keep coming back to reader.

  2. Oh, is THAT how it works? I just use my dashboard. But that looks easier! ~karen

  3. Isn’t this just the bestest tool ever? 🙂

  4. Oops, that was me in the above comment (bestest)… I use this too and it simplifies my otherwise hectic life. It’s those little things that I celebrate.

  5. Thank you so much! You have simplified my life!

    Liri

Leave a Reply

 
