So, I’m Working on Wall Prep for the Sewing Room and…

So, I’m working on the wall prep to paint the former weight room, now Sewing Room and scraping away at a few spots where paint is peeling away from the wall where the weights gouged it. And then off comes this huge strip of wallpaper.

Yikes! I had forgotten that on some of the walls (yes, I said “some,” not all) there is a layer of paint, then wallpaper, then paint again.

But!!! Argh!

So, deep breath. Oh well. I’m not looking to get into Architectural Digest or anything. Just slap the paint on the wall already and get it done. Right? Or….?

“As life becomes harder and more threatening, it also becomes richer, because the fewer expectations we have, the more good things of life become unexpected gifts that we accept with gratitude.” –Etty Hillesum, An Interrupted Life

Hmmm….ha! Oh, and hey, did ya notice that the room was yellow at one time ages ago? How cool is that?

~ by Kimberly Mason on March 15, 2010.

5 Responses to “So, I’m Working on Wall Prep for the Sewing Room and…”

  1. Love the quote! And, I am also in the process of wallpaper stripping/painting. Although it is not to be for my studio, I have empathy for you. Did you happen to check out some of my fav webistes? Greige which is all about light and neutral. Taupe is my latest favorite color. Not beige, not grey, not cream – go Taupe!

  2. I can’t believe I’m saying this (because I’m all about the it’s-good-enough & the shortcut), but you might regret not pulling down all the wallpaper. OR you could fill in where the paper came loose – just so there’s not an indentation there. Or you could hang a picture. Heh.

  3. I have a huge pet peeve about painting over wallpaper. Take the time to remove the wallpaper (yes, it is a HUGE pain when paint has covered it). I know the delay will frustrate you, but the process can be so cathartic. And, the room is totally yours when you’re finished and you can feel really proud of what you’ve accomplished. Just sayin’!

Leave a Reply

 
